INTERVIEW WITH INSANE CHAMPIONSHIP WRESTLING AND NEW AGE KLIQ MEMBER WOLFGANG!!

AS ITS MONDAY ITS TIME FOR AN INTERVIEW WITH A MEMBER OF THE WRESTLING INSUSTRY…TONIGHTS IS WITH INSANE CHAMPIONSHIP WRESTLING STAR AND NEW AGE KLIQ MEMBER WOLFGANG!!

Follow him on Twitter @WolfgangYoung

WHAT FIRST GOT YOU INTO WRESTLING?

I’ve been into wrestling since I was young. Watching “Mega Matches” on VHS was a daily routine. Though the reason I got into wrestling, as in training, was through Jake Roberts. Another childhood hero of mine, Jake “The Snake” was in Scotland and had been interviewed for the paper. My dad brought it home as it mentioned a wrestling school. I used the contact details given in the paper and ended up speaking to Jake on the phone. It was unreal. He advised me to visit Brittish Championship Wrestlings school in Easy Kilbride. 13 years later I’m on shows with some of the best wrestling talent in the world, in front of sell out crowds of 1600 plus. 

WHO WAS THE BIGGEST INFLUENCE ON YOUR CAREER?

I’ve had many influences throughout wrestling. Hulk Hogan was always my biggest inspiration. He walked, talked and looked like a wrestler. Shaun Michaels was the guy I wanted to wrestle like. He could do no wrong and always pulled off everything   in the ring with such ease. 

WHO WOULD BE YOUR DREAM OPPONENT TO HAVE A MATCH WITH?

Hulk Hogan has always been my Hero. If I could choose one person to have a match with, it’d be him. He’s the reason I was ever a wrestling fan and widely regarded as the man that put pro wrestling on the map. If he’s immortal like he claims to be, then I’m sure our paths will cross sooner or later. 

WHATS LIFE LIKE ON THE ROAD DURING AN ICW TOUR?

Life on the road with ICW is always something to look forward to. There’s so many characters traveling together that it does get pretty loud and your always guaranteed good stories to tell. Though some of them are for our ears only and if I told you, wouldn’t get invited back on tour.

HOW DOES IT FEEL TO BE A MEMBER OF THE NEW AGE KLIQ?

Thoughtout 2013/2014 I was brutally attacked by the New Age Kliq. My cousin BT Gunn went so far as to hang me by my neck, and try to crush my skull with a stomp onto a steel chair in London. Which knocked me out cold and gave me a concussion which I suffered the effects of for months to follow. My cousin done all this to prove a point. So I would open my eyes. So I would see that what I was standing up for, the company I had helped build from the ground up, ICW’s management didn’t care about me. They didn’t care that I was being subject to gang attacks week in week out, and neither did anyone backstage. Not one person came out to back me up. After everything I had given them through the years, and almost killing myself and my cousin inside a steel cage, my next match was the opener of a Dundee show against Lewis Girvan. Not only was I thrown straight to the bottom of the ladder after winning a feud lasting over 3 years and finally defending ICW, but I almost broke my neck when the top rope snapped. Thanks ICW. Thanks for nothing. The only person that was waiting to check on me backstage was my cousin, BT Gunn. My eyes were opened. I was a lone wolf, but sometimes it’s good to run with a pack. The grass is greener on the other side, and it’s good to be in the NAK. 

WHATS BEEN THE BEST MATCH YOU’VE HAD IN INSANE CHAMPIONSHIP WRESTLING?

It’s difficult to decide which match would be considered my best. I’ve had many great opponents, each one raising me to their level each time. A lot of people say my match with devitt at Insane Championship Wrestlings “Hadouken” was among my best, and was voted match of the year 2012. Wrestling is subject to personal opinion. So from a personal standpoint, any match I’ve been in against BT Gunn has been my most enjoyable. From ICW’s debut in the Barrowlands where we went to a split decision in a last man standing match. Incidentally, also voted ICW match of the year for 2014. We also went onto a steel cage match in the ABC at the Square Go event this past January. The first ever steel cage match in ICW. As I walked down the ramp, climbed the bars of the cage to look over a view of over 1200 crazy fans expecting something spectacular, I felt like BT Gunn and I had accomplished so much since our beginning in Scotland’s pro wrestling scene. So, that match is a personal highlight. 

WHO HAS BEEN YOUR TOUGHEST OPPONENT IN INSANE CHAMPIONSHIP WRESTLING?

My toughest opponent in ICW so far has the man beast Rhyno, at Shugs Hoose Party 2 in July. It was like trying to fight a bear. He’s all power and hits you like a train. But I was able to stop the train with just one punch. Sure it may have been an extreme measure, but let’s not forget he ran Kay Lee Ray through a table with a gore. I don’t care who you are, you don’t hit girls, you don’t hit my pals, I did what I had to do and knocked the man beast out cold. 

WHO IS THE ONE TO WATCH IN ICW?

One to watch in ICW is “The Bollocks” Kenny Williams. He’s really entertained me this year and always delivers a great performance. He’s the total package and has youth on his side. Plus, the guy rides a hover board. 

WHERE DO YOU SEE WOLFGANG IN 12 MONTHS TIME?

In 12 months time, I see Wolfgang and the NAK in full control of ICW, taking back what we built with our blood, sweat and time. We want what’s rightfully ours. All the gold, all the power and doing what we want, when we want. If within those 12 months I’m given a World Heavyweight Title shot, then I See Wolfgang finally reaching the top of the ladder.    

   
LET US KNOW WHAT YOU THINK ON THE FACEBOOK PAGE…. https://www.facebook.com/SomeoneStopTheDamnMatch

Leave a Reply

