WHAT WRESTLING MEANS TO THE FANS….

WE HAVE BEEN ASKING SOME OF THE FANS OF THE BLOG A FEW QUESTIONS ABOUT WRESTLING!! AS WITHOUT THE FANS THERE WOULD BE NO WRESTLING INDUSTRY!!Today’s fan is Andrew Fingleton, who lives in Dundee, Scotland….
when did you start watching wrestling?

I actively started watching wrestling week in and week out, I would say around 2001? This was part of when the Invasion angle was,I actively started watching wrestling week in and week out, I would say around 2001? This was part of when the Invasion angle was happening and I thought it was just brilliant. I just remember all of these larger than life characters like The Rock, Taker etc and since then I have been following wrestling, whether that be watching on the TV or catching the results online.
who was your favourite wrestler?

This is probably the easiest question for me. Shawn Michaels. At some points he was the sole reason why I watched Monday Night Raw or a PPV. For me, he is the greatest of all time. The things he was able to do inside the squared circle just blew me away. You always knew when he was wrestling, you were going to get a 4/5* match. I actually believe that his best work was from 2006-2010, the matches he had with The Undertaker were incredible, his work with John Cena in 2007, the feud with Chris Jericho in 2008, might possibly be my favourite ever feud since I started watching wrestling. Just a phenomenal athlete. Chris Jericho would be second.
what are your earliest memories of wrestling?

My earliest memory of wrestling was watching the main event of Wrestlemania 14 on VHS. I think it was with my cousin but I cant remember I was only 5. But man, I just remember watching Shawn Michaels Vs Stone Cold and my eyes were glued to the TV. Then I will always remember seeing a man come into the ring and knock out HBK, that was the day I was also introduced to ‘Iron’ Mike Tyson.
what’s your favourite match ever?

Wrestlemania 25 – HBK Vs The Undertaker. Both of these men created a story that night from start to finish. They both made it look so easy and natural wrestling in the ring that night. I know that I have watched this match easily 20-30 times since 2009 and believe it or not I actually forget whats going to happen next because I was so hooked. I know a lot of people say Savage Vs Steamboat, which for me is a close second, but I chose Taker and HBK because I grew up with them and I believe I was able to appreciate their match more because I watched it live and was on the edge of my seat the whole way through.
what’s your current favourite promotion to watch?

I only watch WWE so I have to say them. In the last year or so though, I have found myself not really interested in watching. I normally just check the results and for news online. It seems to me that in the last 5-7 years they have become more focused on being a sports entertainment company and branch away from being known as a wrestling company which I hate! 9 times out of 10 now you will see me watching WWE when Brock Lesnar is on the show.
who is your current favourite wrestler?

The Beast! Brock Lesnar, I will only really watch a PPV when he is on the show or even Raw for the matter. He just brings such a realness that it makes you want to watch him. I always remember his Hell in the cell match with Taker in 2002, that was incredible. I was very happy when he returned in 2012, and seeing him dismantle John Cena at Summerslam in 2014 was a thing of beauty. I am glad he is back with Paul Heyman like in the early days, those 2 together are just fantastic.
do you watch British wrestling?

Being honest, I don’t watch much British wrestling, that has been something that I have been meaning to look up on though
what do you think of the current state of British wrestling?

Again, I don’t really watch British wrestling so I don’t think my opinion is very valid. However, I have to say I have seen it advertised more over the last year or so, whether that be on online, newspapers or even promotional posters on the street. I am however, going to Fat Sams, Dundee in 2 weeks to watch ICW! My first event, and I am excited!
if you were a wrestler what would you call yourself and what would be your gimmick?

I always imagined myself if I was a wrestler that I would want to be very technical and be able to do high spots. I always appreciated ‘wrestling’ so I always saw myself as a mat wrestler in which I would out wrestle my opponent, but I would always want to be a heel, I mean why would you want to be face? And I would call myself Blueprint as I would be what a wrestler should be and look like!
have you ever met any wrestlers, if so who was your favourite and why? 

I have never met any wrestlers unfortunately but if I could meet anyone I would choose The Rock!

SOMEONE STOP THE DAMN MATCH!!

  

IF ANYONE ELSE IS INTERESTED IN TAKING PART AND ANSWERING THESE QUESTIONS, LET US KNOW ON THE FACEBOOK PAGE https://www.facebook.com/SomeoneStopTheDamnMatch

Leave a Reply

