WHAT WRESTLING MEANS TO THE FANS….

WE HAVE BEEN ASKING SOME OF THE FANS OF THE BLOG A FEW QUESTIONS ABOUT WRESTLING!! AS WITHOUT THE FANS THERE WOULD BE NO WRESTLING INDUSTRY!! 
Today’s fan is Charley Brookes from Shrewsbury, Shropshire. Find her on Twitter @CharleyB182
When did you start watching wrestling?
I was around 5 or 6, when I first started watching wrestling. I only ever watched it when I went to see my auntie about once a month. I never understood what was going on but I remember always asking and from then on I have watched it ever since. 

Who was your favourite wrestler?

I have two favourite wrestlers. Jeff Hardy and Edge. I found all their matches so exciting to watch. Every time they wrestled (which was a lot!) their matches always stole the show and always made the crowd go crazy. I loved how Jeff wrestled and how Edge looked and spoke on the mic with Christian. To this day they are still my favourite wrestlers to the point that I have tattoos symbolising them.

What are your earliest memories of wrestling?

My earliest memory isn’t a very memorable moment in wrestling history. Mine is of the Undertaker’s entrance and the obviously Undertaker himself. Whenever his music came on I would hide behind the sofa because he scared me. I wouldn’t come out until the match had finished. 

What’s your favourite match ever?

My favourite match is when the Hardys competed in a ladder match against Edge and Christian for a contract for the tag team titles. It was in October of 1999 If I remember, making me 8 or 9 years of age. I remember being completely blown away by it as I had never seen a match with ladders before and I loved how dangerous it was. None of them cared what happened to their bodies and everything just flowed. They left everything in the ring during that match.

What’s your current favourite promotion to watch?

My favourite promotion is WWE. They aren’t perfect but I grew up watching them and so I stick with it. They sometimes make bad matches or story lines etc but some of the talent they have their is incredible so I will sit and watch it regardless. 

Who is your current favourite wrestler?

My current favourite wrestler is Seth Rollins. I watched him through NXT, then when he wrestled with ambrose and reigns and when he won the championship. I think he is all round a great wrestler. Great image, great mic skills and amazing wrestler. 

Do you watch British wrestling?

I have watched British wrestling occasionally. I wish I had more time to because I think the talent we have over here is amazing and personally think some of our guys here are better than some guys over in America. 

What do you think of the current state of British wrestling?

I think the state of British wrestling is good. We have a lot of talent over here just waiting to be found. I personally love watching PCW. A few guys stood out when I went and watched. Joey Hayes and Kris Travis. Both of those guys put so much effort into their wrestling to make a good show and it shows when they perform. Their in ring ability is up there with some of the guys over in America. 

If you were a wrestler what would you call yourself and what would be your gimmick?

Growing up I wanted to always be a wrestler. I never came up with a name for myself but I knew that I would be the rebellious one as that’s how I am in every day life. I never conformed to anything or anyone and I was my own person. I loved black and dark eye liner and leather jackets and I still do. I would of taken myself and my image and just pumped it up a lot.

Have you ever met any wrestlers, if so who was your favourite? 

I have had the pleasure of meeting a lot of wrestlers. I am lucky enough to work at Wales comic con. I have met Goldust, Tommy Dreamer, Mick Foley, Ted Dibiase, Road Warrior Animal, Brodus Clay, Jeff Jarrett, Karen Jarrett, RVD, Eric Bischoff, Chris Masters, Lita, Maria, Jim Duggan (and plank), Steiner Brothers, Bully Ray, Gail Kim, Victoria, James Storm, Booker T and if there are any more I can not remember. My favourite person to meet was goldust. I worked with him all day and we spoke about everything from wrestling to his family to movies. He does so much for everyone he comes across and he was so amazing with the fans that he met. I met him a few months later at another event and he ran up to me and gave me the biggest hug and asked how I was etc. Goldust really is just a genuine guy who does care for people and wrestling and loves what he does. 


SOMEONE STOP THE DAMN MATCH!!

IF YOU FANCY BEING THE FAN OF THE DAY GIVE US A SHOUT ON THE FACEBOOK PAGE… https://www.facebook.com/SomeoneStopTheDamnMatch

  

Leave a Reply

