What Wrestling Means To The Fans…

WE HAVE BEEN ASKING SOME OF THE FANS OF THE BLOG A FEW QUESTIONS ABOUT WRESTLING!! AS WITHOUT THE FANS THERE WOULD BE NO WRESTLING INDUSTRY!! 
Today’s fan is Rubén Cabral from wrestling website http://www.spinebuster.pt
When did you start watching wrestling?

I’d say around the age of 8, which was in 2006, at the time in Portugal (where I’m from) they would only show Smackdown on Saturday’s, I remember setting up my alarm clock for 10am, because that’s when Smackdown started, and watching it, obviously I also watched PPV’s but it was mainly just Smackdown.

Who was your favourite wrestler?

At that time I really liked Rey Mysterio but he wasn’t my favourite, suprisingly my favourites were actually a Tag Team, Paul London and Brian Kendrick, the guys were so good, their matches were excellent and their kind of unique style in the tag team division made me a super fan of them.

What are your earliest memories of wrestling?

One of my earliest memories of wrestling was at WrestleMania 23 when Bobby Lashley (w/Donald Trump) fought against Umaga (Vince McMahon) in a Hair vs Hair match, to me that was one of the most entertaining things I had seen, because the storyline was so good and the way it ended as well!

What’s your favourite match ever?
Ah, this is a difficult one, it probably was CM Punk vs John Cena at MITB ’11 or, William Regal vs Cesaro on NXT, or Cesaro vs Sami Zayn on NXT ArRival, or Kota Ibushi vs Shinsuke Nakamura at WK9, I know I have mentioned many matches but to me its really difficult to choose between one of them when they were all so enjoyable and the quality of the match was so high.

What’s your current favourite promotion to watch?

This is a easy one! Pro Wrestling Guerrilla, I say its a easy one, not because other promotions are bad, but rather because PWG is soo good.

Who is your favourite current favourite wrestler?

At the moment I have two favourite wrestlers, Tommy End and Zack Sabre Jr.Tommy End is such an amazing talent, his hard striking style, his kicks, his looks, his gimmick, everything about the guy is gold, I’d be very suprised if I don’t see him in one of the top wrestling promotions within 2 years! Same goes to Zack Sabre Jr, I’m the type of guy who prefers matches with lots of spots (Young Bucks style) however watching Zack Sabre Jr is completely different but at the same time so enjoyble, the guy has so much pontential yet I already think that he is in the top 10 in the entire world!
Do you watch British wrestling?
I do, and sometimes I go to some events too, the most recent one was RPW’s Summer Sizzler, it was perfect, all the matches were of high quality and the card was full of talent with guys like Tommy End, AJ Styles, Shinsuke Nakamura, Roderick Strong and many others.

What do you think of the current state of Bristish wrestling?

Even though I’m pretty new to the British wrestling scene, I will risk and say that its currently at a all time best, I mean you have guys Will Ospreay, Marty Scurll, Zack Sabre Jr, Tommy End, Rampage Brown, T-Bone, El Ligero, The GZRS, The Hooligans, Martin Kirby, Dave Mastiff, I could go on and on, it’s so good right now that you want to be involved in it, you have companies like Preston City Wrestling who have a working relationship with Ring Of Honor, Southside Entertainment Wrestling who last year had a show with CZW, RPW who will hold 2 shows in November with NJPW and PROGRESS who have been selling out in less than 20 minutes, you know, it’s such a good time to be a British wrestling fan!

If you were a wrestler what would you call yourself and what would be your gimmick?

I have no idea for the name, as for the gimmick, I think I’d do pretty well in a gimmick like Bray Wyatt’s one.

Have your ever met any wrestlers, if so who was your favourite?

I’ve only met 2, AJ Styles and Colt Cabana, AJ Styles is a really nice guy, however Colt Cabana is just on another level, the dude is hilarious, I highly recommend that if anyone has the opportunity to talk/meet Colt Cabana, do it, you won’t regret it.

SOMEONE STOP THE DAMN MATCH!!
IF YOU FANCY BEING FAN OF THE DAY AND ANSWERING A FEW QUESTIONS, LET US KNOW ON THE FACEBOOK PAGE https://www.facebook.com/SomeoneStopTheDamnMatch AND WE WILL BE IN TOUCH!! 

  

Leave a Reply

