AN INTERVIEW WITH EVERY TIME I DIE GUITARIST ANDY WILLIAMS

I recently had a chat with Every Time I Die guitarist and wrestling fan Andy Williams. You can find him on Twitter @andycomplains  
When did you start watching wrestling?

God, I think I was about 8. I would see WWF stuff and couldn’t get behind it for some reason. My older sister had a BF that was on the wrestling team and he’d come over and power slam me and stuff. We’d watch NWA and he’d give me all his old wrestling mags. I’d get in fights with people at school cuz they would say Hogan was the best and then I’d get mad and tell them Flair, Dusty or Hot Stuff Eddie Gilbert were the best. Hahaha I’m the same way today.

 Who was your favourite wrestler when you were younger and why?

I remember really like Rick Steiner a lot when I was a kid, but I’ve been the biggest Flair fan since I can remember.
  
What are your earliest memories of wrestling?

Shit! I already answered this in the first question! I’ll give you another story…I made friends with this kid PJ Maggiore because he was the only other kid that liked NWA. He had a Nintendo and I’d walk to his house cuz he had the NWA video game. I couldn’t afford a Nintendo, so I’d walk 2 miles to be the Great Muta essentially. 
  
What is your favourite match ever?

I sincerely love all the ECW Masato Tanaka vs Mike Awesome matches. I think their were 4. The first one was crazy and then they just out did themselves every time. I also love NOAH destiny 2005 when Kensuke Sasaki and Kenta Kobashi basically chopped themselves to death. I watch that match about once a week.
  
What is your current favourite promotion to watch? 

That’s so hard cuz I watch so much wrestling. I didn’t think I’d ever say that a current WWE show would make me pop, or thought I’d ever put Cena over, but the dude is pumping out great matches and it makes me watch WWE…that’s not my answer though. I don’t think there’s a greater all around vibe than Pro Wrestling Guerrilla. Every time I go, I’m baffled. It’s like going to my first ever hardcore show. I felt like I was in jeopardy the whole time, but I didn’t want it to ever stop. Plus, you can see Zack Sabre Jr. vs Pentagon jr. or Chris Hero vs Roderick Strong. It’s amazing. 
  
Who is your current favourite wrestler?

Wow. I’m loving Trevor Lee right now. He’s unreal and so young. I’m pumped I get to follow his career for a long time. I’m also loving Biff Busick and Marty Scurll. Both of those guys can make anyone look good and they’re extremely entertaining to boot. I hope I get to see more Marty in the states soon. 
  
Do you watch British wrestling, if yes what promotions?

Obviously Progress. I think next to PWG, they put on the most energetic shows and there’s a vibe and a sense of a kind of community there. I’ve seen some southside stuff, but not enough to base any judgement on it. I’ve always been a fan of British wrestling though. Dynamite, Regal, Brookside, Dave Taylor, even Fit Finley. It was always refreshing to see guys who generally seemed like they gave a shit about what the integrity of wrestling SHOULD be. Entertaining, yet methodical and you felt like they’d fuck you up if you stepped out of line.
  
I saw you get involved with Progress Wrestling at Download Festival in the UK this summer, how did that come about?

Well I’ve always been a proponent of the “if someone talks shit, shut them up” theory. So, Jimmy opened his mouth and I was there. I’m not gonna let that slide. Luckily, I had Jim Smallman on my side and let me rectify the situation. Plus, Mikey Whiplash is unreal and I couldn’t see him get slighted like that. Btw, it felt amazing and I hope I get the chance to do it again. 
  
What do you think of the current state of British wrestling? 

Haha considering you have some of the most innovating wrestling happening on the planet? I feel like in the next 3 years, the U.K. Is gonna be what Japan was in the 90’s for wrestlers around the world. That’s where the real shit is.

If you were a wrestler what would you call yourself and what would be your gimmick? 

I’ve been training and I’m most likely just gonna be me. I have a tag team called PYTHONS and we’re making our debut on Halloween in Connecticut. I’m so pumped and you don’t need a gimmick if you’re already a character. Haha
  
Have you ever met any wrestlers, if so who was your favourite? 

I’ve been fortunate enough to have met a bunch. Tommy End has become one of my favorite people on earth. Inside and outside the ring, he’s amazing. Roderick Strong and I beat each other up for a few days at CSW in Orange County, California cuz we were grappling at Josh Barnett’s school. I train with Pepper Parks and he’s one of the greatest wrestlers on the planet and the best coach I’ve had in any sport. 
  
If you could have a match against any metal musician who would it be? 

Haha trying to get me in trouble here! Haha probably just me vs any white power band or all of them. I’d work real snug and strong and fuck them up really good. Send them on their way cuz they’re garbage.
Which wrestler past or present do you think would make it as a frontman of a band?

Haha man! Anytime a wrestler has tried to sing, it’s sooooooooooo shit! I guess it would be great to see Bruiser Brody singer for a band like Trash Talk or something really aggressive. Haha imagine that!
  

Big thanks to Andy for taking part and was great to have a chat with him!
SOMEONE STOP THE DAMN MATCH!! 

Let us know what you thought of the interview over on the Facebook page https://www.facebook.com/SomeoneStopTheDamnMatch

Leave a Reply

