TODAYS FAN OF THE DAY IS ICW FANS PODCAST’S ANDY O’GORMLEY!!

WE HAVE BEEN ASKING SOME OF THE FANS OF THE BLOG A FEW QUESTIONS ABOUT WRESTLING!! AS WITHOUT THE FANS THERE WOULD BE NO WRESTLING INDUSTRY!! 
Today’s fan is Andy O’Gormley from Glasgow, Scotland. Andy is a member of the ICW fans podcast, find them on Facebook https://www.facebook.com/Icwfanpage

 
When did you start watching wrestling?


Well I started watching wrestling when I was about 5 years old the first show i saw was wrestlemania 6 with Hulk Hogan vs the Ultimate Warrior title vs title and it’s the match that stands out to me as my earliest wrestling memory.

 
Who was your favourite wrestler?

This is the question I feel is hard for me to answer because growing up Hogan and Warrior for me were my guys but then it changed to the Undertaker after seeing him come out for the first time with the Million Dollar Man at the 1990 Survivor Series so as you can imagine it’s stayed with me for a very long time.

 
What are your earliest memories of wrestling?


Well as I said Wrestlemania 6 was my first memory but one of my favourite memories was going to my first house show at the secc with my sister when I was 6 it had everyone at that show but getting to see people like Undertaker, Bret Hitman Hart and The Bushwhackers was a dream come true for me.

 

What is your favourite match ever?
 

That’s a no brainer for me it has to be the Hell In A Cell Match with Undertaker and Mankind. From start to finish that had me glued to my seat watching Mick put his body on the line all in the name of entertainment! I don’t think anything like that will ever be seen again and being a wrestling fan at that time we were lucky to be able to see it.

 
What is your current favourite promotion to watch? 

That’s an easy one… ICW . The reason I say ICW is because I like many other wrestling fans got fed up with WWE and the bland programming of the PG era it didn’t have the same spark it used to have and when I first heard about ICW I was like right must get tickets and since December 2013 i have not looked back and have become obsessed with wrestling again all thanks to Mark Dallas and the crew who put on some of the best wrestling shows this country has seen.
 

Who is your current favourite wrestler? 

Well I have 2 one for WWE and one for ICW. My current favourite wrestler in WWE I’d say is Bray Wyatt just for the simple fact that no one can compare to the way he delivers his promos on the mic and can grab an audience and take you on a journey it’s something that had been missing from WWE and if they book him right he could be a hall of famer in the future.  As for ICW this is a hard pick because that roster is so jam packed with unbelievable talent we are spoiled for choice but it has to be given to the man that is BT GUNN he is like the silent assassin of ICW he doesn’t need to cut promos or talk he does his talking in the ring and is one of not just Britain but Europe’s best talents that will go far.

  
Do you watch British wrestling?

Well I think that’s been coverd with ICW but that’s the only British promotion I watch currently but i am looking to start watching PROGRESS at some stage I have heard a lot of good things about it and ICW has seen a few of their talent come our way with the likes of Jimmy Havoc and The GZRS.
 
What do you think of the current state of British wrestling? 

Right now it’s the best it’s ever been with more and more fans coming back to watching live wrestling again and not just sticking with the WWE and TNA. Long may it continue as Scotland has some of the world’s best undiscovered talent and is the home of European wrestling in my personal opinion.


If you were a wrestler what would you call yourself and what would be your gimmick? 

Hahaha that’s something I’ve never been asked before but I don’t know to be honest because most wrestlers will say their characters are like themselves but times by 10. If I was to say I’d be called the Viking and I’d just be a big bad bastard who would destroy everything in my path.

 
Have you ever met any wrestlers, if so who was your favourite and why?

I’ve met only a few world wide recognised wrestlers but the ones I have met are HBK, Rowdy Roddy Piper and just recently the Icon Sting. My favourite one so far has been Roddy Piper as he was the first wrestling persona that was from Scotland and it always made me happy when the announcement was made and from GLASGOW SCOTLAND ROWDY RODDY PIPER my head would explode with joy because when you are young you don’t expect to hear your town being announced on WWF so aye Hot Rod was the man RIP.  

SOMEONE STOP THE DAMN MATCH!!

IF YOU WANT TO BE THE FAN OF THE DAY LET US KNOW ON THE FACEBOOK PAGE AT https://www.facebook.com/SomeoneStopTheDamnMatch

Leave a Reply

