INTERVIEW WITH ATTITUDE ERA PODCAST’S ADAM BIBILO!!

Recently we had a chat with the Attitude Era Podcast’s Adam Bibilo. Find him on Twitter @Biblops and the Attitude Era Podcast @AEPodcast and listen to him at https://soundcloud.com/the-attitude-era-podcast  
When did you start watching wrestling?

I first started religiously watching wrestling somewhere around late ’99 or early ’00, right in the “second wind” of the Attitude Era, as my co-host Kevin called it.  

Who was your favourite wrestler?

My favourite wrestler as a child was Kane by a wide margin. I loved guys like The Rock and Austin too, but Kane truly was unique in the sense that he had this almost mythical, mysterious background, not to mention the dude literally looked like a demon.   

What are your earliest memories of wrestling?

My earliest memories of wrestling would be watching old Hogan-era tapes with my Grandad, who is still a casual fan today. I love my Grandad but I spent years as a child thinking Yokozuna died because he ate “too much rice”. That’s not an okay thing to say, Grandad. 
  
What is your favourite match ever?

I don’t think I can pick a favourite match “ever” perse, but I’ll just answer Rock v Austin at WM17. Outside of the fact that its an excellent match, it made 10 year old me cry my eyes out and temporarily denounce wrestling from my life.
  
What is your current favourite promotion to watch?

This is an easy and obvious one, it’s gotta be NXT for the simple fact that it’s a wrestling show made for wrestling fans. Still need to check out Lucha Underground. 

 
Who is your current favourite wrestler?

I’m afraid the current roster is so overflowing with incredible talent I’m gonna have to go with a three-way-split as a cop-out answer: Cesaro, Kevin Owens & Seth Rollins. All three are unbelievable workers and complete naturals.  

Do you watch British wrestling?

I’m embarassed to say I am out of the loop on British wrestling as a whole. A friend of mine keeps trying to take me to see a TNT Extreme Wrestling a Liverpool based promotion, so maybe I’ll finally check that out.  

What do you think of the current state of British wrestling?

I am not qualified to answer this. The only British show I’ve seen (and to date the only live wrestling show I have attended) was a small bargain-bin promotion performing in a library theatre to an audience of drunk yorkshiremen and children. I feel like such a dickhead saying that, it just wasn’t my kind of wrestling.   

If you were a wrestler what would you call yourself and what would be your gimmick?

Mister Barista. I’d wear a coffee-bean mask and a Starbucks apron made into a cape. Finishing move is The French Press. I’ve thought about this a lot.  

Have you ever met any wrestlers?

I have not I’m afraid. Did meet JR in London a couple of years ago though and he was an absolute gent. 
 
How did the Attitude Era Podcast come about?

Me, Kevin and Billy did a weekly radio show a few years ago in Lincoln. We reached maybe 10 or 11 listeners a week tops, but it was good fun and a nice hobby. Kevin came up with the idea for the podcast and pitched it to Billy and me as a fun project. I wasn’t really convinced but went along with it anyway and, much to my surprise, people listened to it and actually enjoyed it. Everyone and their dog has a podcast nowadays and I fully expected to be one of the many that sit in complete obscurity but hell, we’ve got an honest-to-goodness fan base and that is nuts to me.  

What was your favourite PPV to review on the podcast?

Honestly, any of the UK bonus episodes. They are absolutely bizarre, non-canonical trips into madness and I love them. While we’re at it, favourite episode by far was Billy and Kev’s review of Wrestlemania Rage Party, which I insist has to be the craziest event WWF ever put on.   

Who would be your dream guest to introduce the podcast?

We’ve always joked about this, but it’d be a dream come true if we could get Vinnie Ru himself to record an intro for the podcast. Who knows, never say never, Marc Mero recorded one for us, and that’s the kind of thing that blows my mind.  

When you first started the podcast did you ever think it would be as big as it is? 

Genuinely, never in a thousand years. It still never sinks in, and I like to pretend its not as popular as it is sometimes because I can’t process it. Someone asked for a photo with me in Manchester city centre recently and I almost shut down completely. It’s so, SO cool people listen to our show.  

Which attitude era wrestlers do you think deserve to be inducted into the Hall Of Fame?

I don’t care about all the BS and politics or whatever, just put Chyna in the HoF already. She’s one of the most important women in the industry’s history, no reason is good enough for her to not be in there yet.
  
You regularly do the grunt of the night feature on the podcast, what has been your best ever grunt of the night?

Always the glargaegh sleeper hold from Jeff Jarrett. Easy choice.  

Finally…. What does wrestling mean to you? 

Wrestling is this weird, unique art-form that the more I think about it, the less it makes sense. It’s absolutely absurd in both concept and execution, and there is nothing else like it in entertainment.  

SOMEONE STOP THE DAMN MATCH!!
Thanks to Adam for taking time out to take part in this, let us know what you think and give us a like on Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/SomeoneStopTheDamnMatch

Leave a Reply

