INTERVIEW WITH LOU KING SHARP!!

We recently had a chat with of British wrestling’s hottest rising stars Lou King Sharp, check him out on Twitter at @LouKingSharpPBW  
What first got you into wrestling?

I don’t know what it was that captivated me but as soon as I first saw wrestling I was hooked! The first guy I saw was Sabu on an ECW DVD the way he threw himself around I think made me want to see what else these guys done.  

Who was your favourite wrestler as a kid?

Growing up my favourite was Sabu his gear was colourful and he flew around the ring and used himself as a weapon. I just thought he was amazing. More recently My favourite wrestler is Rockstar Spud. He can wrestle so many different styles not to mention how charismatic he is.   

Who was the biggest influence on your career?

My trainer Kid Fite had been such a big influence on my carear he has given me all the right guidance and has always really pushed me to get to the next level and has given me so many great opportunities such as working on the All Star camps and being a part if the 2014 king of cruisers match aswell as giving me that same opportunity this year at Maximum Impact in the Greenock Town Hall.   

What has been the biggest achievement of your career so far?

It’s hard to say I’ve done a few things that I’m really proud of such as winning the PWE tag titles, being a part of the King of Cruisers match, performing in The O2 ABC and The Kilmarnock Grand Hall aswell as working with guys like the Young Bucks and D-Von Dudley. I don’t think I could choose one thing and say that’s my biggest achievement but I’m certainly extremely happy with doing all of those things.  

Who has been your favourite opponent to work with?

I love wrestling Kenny Williams. I wrestled him in my first match and have worked with him more than I have worked with anyone else he’s such a fantastic wrestler and he just knows wrestling so well.  

You are part of the Toal Family, how can you see your career going forward under Toal’s leadership?

I think the Toal Family has a lot of potential to do well in ICW. We are all full of ideas and it seems like everyone we speak one of us has a new idea. We all want this really bad and were gonna do what ever we can to get it. Saquib is one of my best mates it’s so much fun getting to work with him. I really hope that some other promotions decide to use us guys together, Myself, Saquib and Toal are a group of mates who are out there to have fun, we’re having fun in the ring, we’re having fun filming promos and I think I can speak for us all when I say we want everyone else to have that fun with us. Of course recently Divers has joined the family and that is only gonna help us grow, he’s such a good worker and he’s a great laugh aswell so I know it’s gonna be fun working with him.  


What do you think of the current state of the British wrestling scene?

British Wrestling is hotter than it’s ever been. There’s no doubt about that, Family shows in Scotland like PBW,BCW, PWE and Wrestlezone are selling out shows across the country and putting on fantastic shows. The adult companies in the UK like ICW, PCW and PROGRESS are bringing mainstream attention to British wrestling and of course are also selling out shows across the country. And that’s not to mention all the younger promotions such as Vertigo Pro in Wales that are gonna be putting on great shows. There’s so many great promotions in the UK so make sure to check out as many as possible!
Who would be your dream opponent?
Without a doubt my dream opponent is Rockstar Spud. I’ve studied so many of his matches trying to learn from watching him. He’s so entertaining and I’d love to have the opportunity to step in the ring with him.  

Apart from yourself, who do you see as a next big thing in ICW?

Aaron Echo and Saquib Ali are two that spring to mind straight away. They are so so talented and id love to see them in ICW more regularly. Two of the absolute best young wrestlers in the UK in my opinion and I’m sure a lot of people would agree with me there.  

Where do you see yourself in 12 months time?

I don’t know what the future holds for me I’ve had a lot of great opportunities very early on in my career, so hopefully things continue to go well and hopefully I continue to get all these great opportunities like I have been.   

If you were to challenge for the ICW tag titles, which member of the Toal Family would you choose to be your partner?

Saquib Ali. As I said earlier we have fun when we’re working together and if we’re having fun I think that everyone else would have fun with us. We want to have a laugh and a good time but at the same time we want to have the best matches we possibly can and we want to continue to push ourselves every time we go out there. I know that he would give it 100% and I know that I would too.

  
Finally…. What does wrestling mean to you?

Wrestling is everything to me. It’s all I’ve ever wanted to do and it’s all I ever will want to do. It’s my dream and I’m going to do everything I can to achieve my dream.  

 
The future is very bright for this young man, maybe he could work his way onto the card at Insane Championship Wrestling’s biggest ever show next year Fear & Loathing IX at the SSE Hydro in Glasgow…..WATCH THIS SPACE!! 
SOMEONE STOP THE DAMN MATCH!!
Let us know what you think of our interview and give our Facebook page a like https://www.facebook.com/SomeoneStopTheDamnMatch

Leave a Reply

