TODAY’S FAN OF THE DAY IS ICW FANS PODCAST’S GARY GALLACHER!!

WE HAVE BEEN ASKING SOME OF THE FANS OF THE BLOG A FEW QUESTIONS ABOUT WRESTLING!! AS WITHOUT THE FANS THERE WOULD BE NO WRESTLING INDUSTRY!! 
Today’s fan is Gary Gallacher from the ICW Fans Podcast. You can find them on Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/Icwfanpage/ and listen to them on SoundCloud.

  

  
When did you start watching wrestling?

My earliest memory of wrestling and when I started watching it was the 1992 Summerslam in England. I can’t remember much of it but I do remember the Legion Of Doom coming out on the motorbikes and I thought this is amazing. The one after that I remember is Papa Shango put a curse on the Ultimate Warrior and had black stuff running down his face when he was doing an interview.   

Who was your favourite wrestler as a child?

My favourite wrestler that’s a tough one I think Scott Hall has always been my favourite for a tall guy I thought he was a class wrestler, good at promos and just wanted to see him as champion. I actually went off my head when he won the ladder match against Shawn Michaels. I have had the privilege of meeting him too and didn’t know what to say to him I was star struck. But Scott Hall for me was always the main man so when he went to WCW I started watching that more over Raw and don’t regret that decision one bit.  

What are your earliest memories of wrestling?

I was really young but some things stick in your head. But for me the one that I could probably replay over and over again was when the NWO started. My mate used to get a copy of the videos of WCW live events so I used to take it off him and watch them, when Hulk Hogan turned heel I was shocked but excited because the NWO formed and transformed wrestling.
 
What is your favourite match ever?

This is a tough one because is it for ICW or WWE? I think I’ll tell you both. For ICW it’s the cage match between Wolfgang and BT Gunn as it had everything and it was the final match between the two of them. If you followed the whole storyline you will know why and understand it as it was an emotional end to a great fued and how they nearly killed each other time and time again. WWE wise it’s a lot harder because I have been a fan for years but I can’t think of one that would I watch over and over apart from maybe the Mankind vs Undertaker Hell In A Cell match, again just because how crazy and extreme they went to put their bodies on the line for the fans.   

What is the best wrestling show you’ve attended?

I’ve only ever been to ICW shows but I think the best show I have been to was Shugs Hoose Party last year as it had everything, Fergal Devitt made an appearance and when Drew Galloway returned the pop was out of this world for both. Devitt winning the Zero G Title, then the wrestling and wrestlers they had on the show was out of this world. ICW always put on a great show and never been disappointed but that one really stands out.   

What is your current favourite promotion to watch?

ICW hands down. I watched WWE and it has not been the same since the Attitude Era and TNA is just so bad on so many levels. ICW is home grown, it’s got entertainment, also has great wrestlers and great venues as well. It sells out everywhere it goes and I have watched it grow over the past couple years and so proud to call myself a fan.  

Who is your current favourite British wrestler?

My favourite wrestler is BT Gunn, I think the skill that man has is amazing and I have seen some of the best feuds with him involved. He doesn’t talk on the mic but always makes a statement when he wrestles, which a lot of people find hard to do. Very underrated wrestler who puts his body on the line every time he is out there, I have opened my eyes.   

Do you watch British wrestling, if yes what promotions?

Yeah I watch ICW and I try and watch other ones but they can’t compare to ICW in my own opinion. I would like to get to a Preston City Wrestling show soon I think we are going to do a road trip for that. But I have been going to ICW shows for nearly 3 years and have only missed two shows in Glasgow.  

Who is your current favourite wrestler?

My favourite wrestler at the moment is Fergal Devitt aka Finn Balor he is such a good wrestler and great ability in the ring. His appearance and entrance are next to non. I think he is going to be a big star on the WWE main roster.  

What do you think of the current state of British wrestling?

British wrestling overall is getting bigger, a lot of big names getting signed up. They show the world what British wrestling can do and I think the rest of the world are now standing up and taking notice.

If you were a wrestler what would you call yourself and what would be your gimmick?

That’s a tough one to be honest I’ve loved wrestling but I’ve never thought of being a wrestler or what gimmick I would be. Name would be Silver Fox and I would like to be a hardcore wrestler and put my body through it all.   

Have you ever met any wrestlers, if so who was your favourite?

I have met Hot Rod Rowdy Roddy Piper, he was a great guy. I have also met Scott Hall, Kevin Nash and X Pac at a meet and greet. I met 2 Cool when they were here in February which was pretty cool too. Also met HBK, Sting and also Mick Foley. ICW wise I have met or talked to most of the wrestlers there. Including the New Age Kliq when we did a podcast with them not that along ago which is available on our page ICW Fans at https://www.facebook.com/Icwfanpage/  

SOMEONE STOP THE DAMN MATCH!!
If you want to be our Fan Of The Day let us know and give us a like on Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/SomeoneStopTheDamnMatch

Leave a Reply

