INTERVIEW WITH JACK SEXSMITH…

We recently had a chat with rising star in British wrestling Jack Sexsmith, find him on Twitter @TheJackSexsmith   
What first got you into wrestling?

No one in my family or friendship groups were really into it growing up. I remember staying round my Dad’s on a weekend as a kid and him having Sky Sports. When I couldn’t sleep after watching Match Of The Day, I’d find myself engrossed in WWF. Think the first bout I caught was Road Dogg against someone.

   

Who was your favourite wrestler as a kid?

 Kane, He just really interested me. Could get such sympathy as a ‘freak’ and so intimidating as a villain. When Cena did his hip-hop thing in like 2002-2004 I thought he was just the greatest thing in the world. He could slay you verbally and then deliver in the ring as a cowardly, cunning blue eyes. One of the best mic men ever who is now somewhat trapped by his own success.

   

Who was the biggest influence on your career?

 I began training under Justin Richards some years ago. The man was an absolute genius when I came to hold application and ring psychology. Oddly Sebastian (of ‘Geeze’ fame) has actually played quite a prominent part. He was training under Justin when I started and we hit it off. Then I got hurt and had my knee reconstructed. Thought I was done with wrestling before I really got going. Then after his own sabbatical, he started training again and quickly found himself in a match with Zack Sabre Jr…. ZACK SABRE F****** JR!!! It infuriated me (in a mates way) and he has gone from strength to strength. I used his success as motivation and here we are. Jimmy Havoc, Darrell Allen & James Davis are utterly scholars of the business and have been a joy to learn from.

   

What has been the biggest achievement of your career so far?

I once threw someone out of a rumble with Johnny Saint. We shared a double high five (high ten?), he then threw me out. Such treachery.

   

Who has been your favourite opponent to work with and why?

Several years ago, before Jack Sexsmith and before The Aerial Assassin, I faced off against Osperay. I worked a plucky, happy-go-lucky Irish gimmick that I’m glad to be rid of and he was the arrogant Jason Artem. That was a lot of fun. (See the match below) https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JGDqM5TqbII

My match with Eddie Dennis at ENDVR:11 really helped me get my name out and show off what I’m about. That was so much fun and for Eddie to be happy to play the straight man was humbling. Damon Moser is constantly easy to be in the ring with. We share very similar philosophies.

    

What does wrestling mean to you?

I like attention… I’m not ashamed to admit it. Wrestling offers me a medium where I can perform as an actor and an athlete. To be active in an industry that has entertained me for so many years is a blessing. It’s soap opera meets circus, with a character for everyone to identify with. Soap opera meets circus. Acting meets athleticism.

   

What do you think of the current state of the British wrestling scene?

BOOMING! Whether shows are tailored to a family demographic or adult audience, talent and booking has been so good that casual punters are swiftly becoming wrestling fans. It’s a variety show, whether it’s comedy, action, violence, athleticism or aggression, there’s something for all and it’s now cool again. Film is driven by superhero stories at the moment, Allegorical good versus evil and all the shades of grey in-between, Translates nicely over.

   

Who would be your dream opponent?

Shawn Michaels (he’s most people’s answer, right?). He’s the best ever and it’s so effortless. Val Venis or Joey Ryan. Imagine the filth… imagine it!

   

Apart from yourself, who do you see as the next big thing in British wrestling?

Earl Black Jr. In a good guy heavy scene, a legitimate nasty unidentifiable bad guy is a valuable commodity. He’s only been training for a year and he’s someone anyone would love to work with an understated charisma.  

   

Where do you see yourself in 12 months time?

I want to be a resident on Progress’ Chapter shows and be getting booked up and down the nation. Who knows, maybe a cheeky championship too.

   

For someone who has never seen Jack Sexsmith live before, what should they expect to see when they do? 

Pure and unadulterated smut. Lighthearted without being 2D. You may doubt find yourself doubting the merits of monogamy.

  
SOMEONE STOP THE DAMN MATCH!! 
Make sure you check out Jack Sexsmith live and let us know what you thought of the interview over on our Facebook page https://www.facebook.com/SomeoneStopTheDamnMatch

Leave a Reply

