INTERVIEW WITH TYLER BATE!!

We recently had a chat with British wrestler Tyler Bate, you can find him on Twitter @Tyler_Bate
  
What first got you into wrestling?

What got me into wrestling to begin with was actually the video games. I hadn’t ever watched wrestling or even knew it existed, my cousin just happened to bring around one of the WWE games and I immediately fell in love.

  
Who was your favourite wrestler as a kid?

My favourite wrestler as a kid was Kane because he just looked really cool and scary.

  
Who was the biggest influence on your career?

I couldn’t tell you who the biggest influence on my career has been. No single wrestler has had any massive impact on my career but I just found the energy and the love from fans is what has influenced me the most. I adore the feeling of actually being wanted and having the attention on me.

  
What has been the biggest achievement of your career so far?

The biggest achievement of my career so far…. I have a few. Getting to wrestle the Bullet Club at Chikara’s King of Trios was huge, going 35 minutes with Chris Hero in an iron man match was more of a personal achievement and I also got to wrestle Yoshihiro Takayama in Germany for WXW.

  
Who has been your favourite opponent to work with?

My favourite opponent to work with has been Chris Brookes because we have a lot of chemistry and know each others move-set  step for step now. He is always really easy and we never fail to get the crowd behind the match.

  
What is your favourite move to perform?

My favourite move to perform is easily my signature airplane spin giant swing which Chris Brookes actually invented for me. I have never seen anyone else do it ever but I’m sure that it will soon become a regular occurrence.

  
What do you think of the current state of the British wrestling scene?

I think that the current status of British wrestling is rather strong. It is a very good time to be wrestling in this country at the moment and there is plenty of work with decent sized crowds everywhere you go. 

  
Who would be your dream opponent?

My dream opponent… I’ve never thought about it in that much depth but if I had to choose it would be one of the old school world of sport guys like Johnny Saint, Steve Grey… I’m a huge Catweazle fan and I really enjoy guys like William Regal, Fit Finlay or Dave Taylor.

  
Who do you see as the next big thing in British wrestling?

I couldn’t say who the next big thing in British wrestling is. There are tons of new talents appearing everywhere you go in Britain. I wouldn’t say I’m anyone to be able to pin point the next big thing. Just watch out because there’s a lot of hungry you talents everywhere.

  
Where do you see yourself in 12 months time?

I don’t see myself anywhere but I would like to be able to do a full month or two tour of somewhere like Japan or USA. In 12 months time I see myself closer to reaching my goal in professional wrestling which would be to work for one of the worlds major companies. 

  
SOMEONE STOP THE DAMN MATCH!!
Let us know what you thought of the interview and check out the the Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/SomeoneStopTheDamnMatch

Leave a Reply

