INTERVIEW WITH BRITISH WRESTLER DEAN ALLMARK!!

We recently had a chat with British wrestler and well travelled competitor, Dean Allmark, find him on Twitter @DeanAllmark   
What first got you into wrestling?

My Grandad introduced me to wrestling when I was about 6 or 7 years old, I’m pretty sure Akeem vs Sabba Simba was the first match I ever saw.
  
Who was your favourite wrestler when you were younger?

When I was young I absolutely loved Mr Perfect for some reason loved the perfect plex.
  
Who has been the biggest influence on your career?

Robbie Dynamite has been my best friend since we were about 9 years old and has always been like my big brother. He taught me how to train in the gym, introduced me to obscure wrestling from all over the world, dragged me along and paid for me on our first day of wrestling training and always pushed me to the limit every time we’ve wrestled each other over the last 15 years. I don’t even know if I’d be wrestling if it wasn’t for him.
  
Who has been your favourite opponent you have wrestled?

Dynamite has always bought the best out in me so I would have to say him, wrestling legend Jushin Thunder Liger is a close 2nd. Wrestling in Japan is also up there, I’ve always been such a huge fan of Japanese wrestling it was definitely a special experience for me.

  
On the other hand, who would be your dream opponent?

That’s a tough one, I wouldn’t mind wrestling Kota Ibushi he goes hard every time he wrestles and I feel that would be a great challenge for me.

  
Your also a trainer, who of your trainees do you think have a bright future ahead of them? 
Yes I’ve been teaching for almost 10 years now and have many students who have such bright futures, I’ve got guys like Ringo Ryan, Carl Curtis, Tyson Taylor (Terry Ace), Sean Moral, Kayden Lay, Cousin Jake who are already touring with All Star Wrestling on a regular basis and I’ve got students like RJ Silva, Tyler Adams and Justin Sane who are really good and ready to become regulars on the ASW roster.
  
What do you think of the current state of British wrestling?

I think British wrestling is the best it’s been in the 15 years I’ve been doing this, there’s literally 100’s of very talented guys out there wrestling all over the UK in front of massive crowds almost every single weekend. Crowd Attendances are at a high for most promotions and it’s a good time to be involved in British wrestling right now.
  
Where has been your favourite place you have wrestled?

I love wrestling at Evoke in Preston for PCW the atmosphere is always amazing and every time I go there it just feels like coming home, same goes for All Star Wrestling at Rhyl Town Hall and my hometown Victoria Hall in Hanley, Stoke-on-Trent. But I don’t think anywhere will ever beat wrestling at the Ryōgoku Kokugikan sumo hall in Tokyo, Japan in front of 6000 fans it was very surreal. 
  
What has been your biggest accomplishment in wrestling so far?

There’s been so many highs it’s hard to pick one but if I had to it would be wrestling in Japan.
  
How was your experience wrestling for TNA back in 2004?

Overall it was a good experience but for me it came too early in my career I would of done everything so much differently if it was now, I just wasn’t ready back then. I definitely learnt a lot from my time there.
  
You have held lots of championships in your career, but which title that you’ve not won yet do you have your eye on?

I’d love to win a championship at PCW, I feel I’ve come so far and been through so much in my time there it would be unfortunate to not win a championship. 

  
For anyone that has not seen a Dean Allmark match, what should they expect from one?

In my matches I try to put something in there for everyone, I like to think of myself as an all rounder and different to what everybody has to offer in wrestling.
  
Where do you see Dean Allmark in 12 months time?

Hopefully I’ll still be busy travelling and wrestling. I’ve just got back from a week teaching in Italy which was fun and I love discovering new places and the more sun the better haha.
  
What advice do you have for anyone wanting to get into the wrestling business? 

Watch as much wrestling as you can from all over the world, watch as many different styles as possible, find a good wrestling school with a trainer with a good reputation and dedicate every minute of your day to wrestling. If wrestling is your passion go out there and throw yourself into it and do t let anything stop you becoming what you be.
  
SOMEONE STOP THE DAMN MATCH!!
Many thanks to Dean for taking the time out to take part in this interview, let us know what you thought of the interview over on our Facebook page https://www.facebook.com/SomeoneStopTheDamnMatch

Leave a Reply

