Interview With British Wrestler Joey Sanchez

We recently had a chat with Shropshire Wrestling Alliance wrestler and trainer Joey Sanchez. Find them online at http://www.shropshirewrestlingalliance.bigcartel.com/  
What first got you into wrestling?
I first got into wrestling when my dad turned on the TV and made us watch wrestling, Legion Of Doom were cutting a promo and i was hooked from there.   

Who was your favourite wrestler as a kid?

My favourite wrestler as a kid (and still is) is Bret Hart, his entrance music I loved but I always wished I was the kid that got his glasses. Always a fan of his ring work and even when I perform today I still use the Hitman comeback. Just a brilliant character and an even better wrestler.   

Who was the biggest influence on your career?

The biggest influence on my career is obviously Bret Hart, my family are supportive but as far as being a wrestler Bret is the guy that has made me want to step in the squared circle.   

What has been the biggest achievement of your career so far?

The biggest achievement of my career was holding the Shropshire Wrestling Alliance Championship for 565 days.   

Who has been your favourite opponent to work?

My favourite opponent is a guy called Jayme Future, amazing talent and someone not many people would of heard of! Also it was a massive privilege defending the Shropshire Wrestling Alliance Title against Doug Williams.  

What are your favourite moves to perform?

My favourite moves to perform in the ring are the Super Kick, Code Breaker, GTS and the Sharpshooter.   

What do you think of the current state of the British wrestling scene?

I think British wrestling is on the up, you have company’s like PCW, WAW etc that are doing great stuff.   

Who would be your dream opponent?

My dream opponent would have to be Bret Hart, he is a guy that I’ve looked up too my whole wrestling life so would be the biggest honour.   

Who do you see as the next big thing in British wrestling?

There are a few different talents that are amazing Tyler Bate, Dan Moloney, Chris Ridgeway and Will Osperay! Some really amazing talents that don’t seem to have a bad match and they are all young dudes aswell!   

Where do you see yourself in 12 months time?

Well at the moment I’m head trainer at the the Shropshire Wrestling Alliance Academy and I’m taking the next generation through their paces, proud of what we have accomplished so far, we are actually held our first show for these guys on December 13th at St George’s cricket club in Telford! That’s my main focus for now.  
SOMEONE STOP THE DAMN MATCH!!
Let us know what you thought of our interview with Joey Sanchez over on the Facebook page at https://www.facebook.com/SomeoneStopTheDamnMatch

Leave a Reply

