TODAY’S FAN OF THE DAY IS CALUM PARK!!

WE HAVE BEEN ASKING SOME OF THE FANS OF THE BLOG A FEW QUESTIONS ABOUT WRESTLING!! AS WITHOUT THE FANS THERE WOULD BE NO WRESTLING INDUSTRY!! 
Today’s fan is Calum Park from the ICW Fans Podcast. You can find them on Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/Icwfanpage/ and listen to them on SoundCloud.

  
When did you start watching wrestling?

I started watching wrestling when I was 10 so about 9 years ago, like a lot of people I sort of fell out of it between 2010 to 2012 just about the time ICW started to make more of an impact and now I basically live, sleep and breathe wrestling.   

Who was your favourite wrestler?

My favourite has to be JOHN CENA… Ahaha yeah fucking right…but in all seriousness my favourite wrestler has to be none other than the Hall of Famer, Mr Wrestlemania, Shawn Michaels all because of the fued he had with Mr McMahon at Wrestlemania. The violence in that match was just insane and when I found out that it was the boss that he was against I just felt a connection with Shawn, it was basically a big Fuck you to the big guy!   

What are your earliest memories of wrestling?

Vince McMahon being drenched in Shawn Michaels urine when he had to do the public urination test. Just the line he delivered “It’s better to be pissed off, than to be pissed on” Best line ever!   

What is your favourite match ever?

BT Gunn vs Wolfgang Steel cage match at Insane Championship Wrestling Square Go. Hands down the best match I’ve have ever seen in my life. Those two men but everything on the line in that match and left their heart and soul in that ring. It was truly breath taking and I was genuinely.   

What is the best wrestling show you’ve attended?

The best wrestling show I have ever attended for me has to be Flawless Victory, and the reason that one sticks out in my mind is because that was the night that Stevie boy and Kay Lee Ray joined the NAK. Honest to god I popped like fuck and was not even sorry about it! NAK TILL DEATH!  

What is your current favourite promotion to watch?

ICW… Without a shadow of a doubt it is my favourite promotion to watch because it is always drawing you in, you grow a connection with the wrestlers and that’s what every single one of them are, Professional Wrestlers! Not superstars… WRESTLERS! ICW has changed my life, ever since my first show “Fear and Loathing 8” at the barrowlands I have been to every single Glasgow show bar “Spacebaws 2.” Heck it’s changed my life so much i am actually perusing one of my dreams and training with the Glasgow Pro Wrestling Asylum. A lot can happen in a year. 

   

Who is your current favourite wrestler?

Chris Renfrew, Why? Why not? He is a man who just goes out and speaks every bit of the truth, puts his body on the line every time he steps foot into that ring, you know every time you see Renfrew in a match you know it’s going to be a great match. He is one of the most under rated wrestlers in this industry.   

Do you watch British wrestling, if yes what promotions?

I try my very hardest to make as many British promotions I possibly can, BCW, PWE, SWA, ICW (obviously) PBW are just a few of the best in the country, I got a chance to witness some PROGRESS at Download 2015 and I would love to go down to one of their shows when I have the chance.   

Who is your favourite British wrestler?

I don’t know if I can have a British wrestler be my favourite current wrestler and have a favourite British wrestler because I really can’t pick because they are all so great at what they do. But you say British wrestling and one that always comes up is none other than Mikey Whiplash. This man is so amazing at what he does, he is without a shadow of a doubt one of the best technical wrestlers in the British wrestling scene but he always leaves his heart and soul in the middle of that ring.

   
What do you think of the current state of British wrestling?

As Drew Galloway said “The eyes are on Scotland” and he is right, without a shadow of a doubt British wrestling has blown up in the past 3/4 years and it’s amazing, it’s just showing everyone all around the world that this is our time and we are gonna take the world by storm and they are not gonna know who or what’s hit them!   

If you were a wrestler what would you call yourself and what would be your gimmick?

Well as I previously stated I’m training with GPWA but to be perfectly honest I haven’t actually thought about it at all. Although saying that my colleagues at work think I should be called the Parkinator and my catch phrase when I execute my finisher should be “You’ve been Parked!” So we are really just going to have to wait and see what happens when it’s my time to hit the ring!   

Have you ever met any wrestlers, if so who was your favourite? 

In the sense of WWE, I haven’t really met any of them, I did have the pleasure of meeting the hardcore icon Mick Foley. As for the British wrestling scene I have met almost about everyone but honestly I have never been more happy then the time I got the chance with my ICW Fans brothers to interview the NAK. This was the first time ever I got to meet Renfrew and honestly i had felt like I had just met my hero. They say don’t meet your Hero, I have and it was amazing.  

SOMEONE STOP THE DAMN MATCH!!
Big thanks to Calum for taking part, if you fancy being a Fan Of The Day let us know either on here or on the Facebook page at https://www.facebook.com/SomeoneStopTheDamnMatch

Leave a Reply

