INTERVIEW WITH WRESTLING LEGEND LES THATCHER!!

We recently had a chat with wrestling legend turned trainer Les Thatcher, find him on Twitter at @LesThatcher  
What got you into wrestling? 

I became a fan at age nine after seeing my first television wrestling show and ten years later had my first pro match.  

Who was your favourite wrestler as a kid?

Nature Boy Buddy Rogers was my childhood idol.  

Who has been your favourite opponent? 

Too many to remember truthfully, I have been blessed to work with some of the great masters of the business.  

Being a trainer as well as a former pro wrestler, who was the most successful wrestlers you trained? 

Depends on how you grade success. Nigel McGuinness, BJ Whitmer, Dean Ambrose to name a few, but I have trained some very talented workers that have never been given national or world wide pubicity.  

What do you think of the current state of professional wrestling? 

I sincerely believe we need to dial it back a notch. Everything and I mean everything has been done to death, way too much bad comedy and we are becoming a parody of ourselves.

   
What was your greatest achievement in wrestling? 

I feel I have had a positive effect in the fields I have worked in, but really this would be something others would have to decide.  

Who would be your dream opponent past or present? 

I would love to have had the chance to wrestle Buddy Rogers since he was my childhood idol.

  
Is there anything you wish you had done in your career? 

How about gotten rich.  

  
Who has been the biggest influence on your career? 

There have been several over the years. I have been blessed to work with great promoters like Jim Crockett and Jim Barnett, Great bookers like Leo Garabaldi, Eddie Graham and George Scott. I shared the microphone with the Mt. Rushmore of announcers Gordon Solie, Bob Caudle, Jim Ross and Lance Russell.

  
Which company is your current favourite to watch?

Actually right now I have no favourite. The ladies of NXT and young workers like Timothy Thatcher, Drew Gulak, Adam Cole and Roddy Strong stand out.  

What does Wrestling mean to you? 

It has been my whole adult life. It is who I am and what I do.  

If people have never seen a Les Thatcher match before what should they expect when they do see one? 

Chances are they never will as I can’t seem to find any old matches out there, but if you were to find one it would be the classic old school baby face style.

  
SOMEONE STOP THE DAMN MATCH!!
A huge thank you to Les Thatcher for taking his time out to answer our questions. Let us know what you thought over on our Facebook page https://www.facebook.com/SomeoneStopTheDamnMatch

Leave a Reply

