TODAYS FAN OF THE DAY IS DAMON McCABE

WE HAVE BEEN ASKING SOME OF THE FANS OF THE BLOG A FEW QUESTIONS ABOUT WRESTLING!! AS WITHOUT THE FANS THERE WOULD BE NO WRESTLING INDUSTRY!! 
Today’s fan is Damon McCabe from Dundee, Scotland.

  
When did you start watching wrestling?

I started watching wrestling when I was about 4 or 5 I think. Watching World of Sport on ITV in my Gran’s house every Saturday afternoon.  

Who was your favourite wrestler growing up?

Favourite wrestler. ..I’ve had a few but I think Roddy Piper has been a mainstay. A Scottish character, total bad ass and pipes playing. His passion captured my imagination and I wanted to be like him when I grew up.  

What are your earliest memories of wrestling?

My earliest memories of wrestling are definitely watching old school British wrestling with my gran. The likes of Len Ironside, Marty Jones, Catweasel and Big Daddy and Giant Haystacks.  

What is your favourite match ever?

Favourite match ever?? Jeez. Possibly Hogan and Mr T vs Roddy Piper and Paul Orndorff. The spectacle of the first Wrestlemania as a kid was amazing and this match was just epic hero vs villain all the way.  

What is your current favourite promotion to watch?

I’ve changed allegiance over the years a few times WWF to WCW to WWE to TNA now to NXT. It’s fresh and innovative and a lot like the indy shows I go to. It’s quickly becoming my favourite televised promotion.  

Who is your current favourite wrestler?

Hard to pick a favourite, but I think Austin Aries is a great example of a total package. Great on the mic tremendous technical and high flying skill and also defying convention by not being your typical 6ft plus bodybuilder. I have to throw in Nikki Storm as a future icon of women’s wrestling amazing to watch in ring and a great command of the crowd.  

Do you watch British wrestling, if so which promotions?

I have been to a few local promotions, most frequently as they’re based up the road from me Scottish Wrestling Entertainment. I have also been to a number of ICW shows as well as Discovery Wrestling and most recently 5 Star Wrestling, all have been excellent.  

What do you think of the current state of British wrestling?

I think it’s clear British wrestling is on the rise and the whole world is taking notice. It’s great to see many faces from local indy shows making appearances stateside on TNA and WWE.  

If you were a wrestler what would you call yourself and what would be your gimmick?

As a kid, my cousins and I always wrestled in my gran’s garden, leaping from the shed roof with flying elbows and Swantons. I’m surprised we never got injured. I used to be Flaming Damon. The daredevil entering the arena through imaginary flames and taking out opponents with the Flaming Fingers Of Death ( basically an eye poke but with imaginary Flaming fingers)   

Have you ever met any wrestlers, if so who was your favourite?

I’ve had the great pleasure of meeting many wrestlers from Bret Hart and Ted DiBiase to DDP, ODB, Chris Sabin, John Morrison and Animal from Legion of Doom to name a few. So far I’d say DDP was the most interactive and genuinely friendly guy I’ve met. Had a great chat with him about his run in WCW and could have talked all day if we’d had the chance.   

 SOMEONE STOP THE DAMN MATCH!! 
Thanks to Damon for taking his time out to answer our questions, if you fancy being our fan of the day let us know on our Facebook page https://www.facebook.com/SomeoneStopTheDamnMatch

Leave a Reply

