TODAY’S FAN OF THE DAY JOHN MITCHELL

WE HAVE BEEN ASKING SOME OF THE FANS OF THE BLOG A FEW QUESTIONS ABOUT WRESTLING!! AS WITHOUT THE FANS THERE WOULD BE NO WRESTLING INDUSTRY!! 
Today’s fan is John Mitchell from Dundee, Scotland. We find out more about John’s love of professional wrestling in this interview.

  
When did you start watching wrestling?
I started watching wresting in 1990 in the lead up to Wrestlemania 6.  

Who was your favourite wrestler when you were younger?

My favourite wrestler is Mick Foley. Every time I watched Mick, he took me on an emotional rollercoaster one minute he’d make you laugh and the next he could make you cry. He was one of those rare guys that wouldnt mind putting talent over and he went above and beyond the call of duty to entertain the fans.  

What are your earliest memories of wrestling?

My earliest memories of wrestling were promos of Hulk Hogan and the Ultimate Warrior promoting their upcoming match, the ultimate challenge at Wrestlemania 6. I can’t remember my first match as back in those days we didn’t have big matches on TV every week.  

What is your favourite match you have ever seen?

My favourite match is Mick Foley vs Randy Orton at Backlash 2004. Mainly because after a lengthy lay off Mick had returned to prove he can still “go” however after suffering a defeat at Wrestlemania 20 and giving what he feels was a lack luster performance he got serious, got in shape and did some of his best work promo wise as well as having a tremendous match against the younger Randy Orton, helping to make Orton a star in the process.  

What is the best wrestling show you’ve attended?

The best wrestling show I’ve attended was ICW Still Smokin. It was my first Insane Championship Wrestling experience and everything from the matches to the crowd to the suprise guest Fergal Devitt (Finn Balor) was just spot on, couldn’t fault the show on anything.  

What is your current favourite promotion to watch?

NXT is my current favourite promotion to watch as they are to an extent going back to basics and making the show more about wrestling than entertainment.  

Who is your current favourite wrestler?

My current favourite wrestler is Bray Wyatt. I love his character, his ring work and especially his promos. They are captivating.

 
Do you watch any British wrestling promotions?

I go to a few Scottish promotions. Scottish Wrestling Entertainment, Discovery, Insane Championship Wrestling, Wrestlezone, World Wide Wrestling League, Scottish School Of Wrestling and Reckless Intent.  

Who is your favourite British wrestler?

My favourite British wrestler is Joe Coffey, why? Because he’s a wrestler a mighty wrestler his name is Joe Coffey…..  

What do you think of the current state of British wrestling?

I think British wrestling is doing great at the minute, it’s becoming very popular and mainstream. So well in fact that we have ex WWE wrestlers coming over regularly to work here. That was unheard of when I was a kid. When I was growing up it wasn’t very “cool” to like wrestling as its “all fake”, these days I see just as many wrestling fans walking the street as football fans.  

If you were a wrestler what would you call yourself and what would be your gimmick?

If I was a wrestler I’d definitely be a Wyatt family member, I love their look and their characters and me looking the way I do I would fit right in. As far as a name goes something kinda hillbilly/murderer like Garland Greene or Charles Lee Ray…..  

Have you ever met any wrestlers, if so who was your favourite? 

I’ve met Lita, Jake The Snake, Virgil, Ted Dibiase, Tatanka, DDP, Doug Williams, Marty Scurll, Bret Hitman Hart, Finn Balor, Animal, Mike Mondo, Grado, Colt Cabana, Chris Sabin, Crime Time, Leah von Dutch, Alpha Female, Paul London, Brian Kendrick, Ric Flair, The Young Bucks, Chris Masters, Devon Dudley, Hardcore Holly, Chris Hero, Ricochet, Chyna, John Morrison, Carlito, ODB, Justin Gabriel, Magnus, Mark Andrews and my favourite Mick Foley as he took time to speak to the fans. Despite the large crowd he let me ask him a few questions, happily signed all my merchandise, asked me questions and gave me a few freebies.      

SOMEONE STOP THE DAMN MATCH!!
Huge thanks to John for taking the time out to speak with us, very jealous that he’s got to meet all of these wrestlers. Let us know if you want to be out fan of the day over on our Facebook page at https://www.facebook.com/SomeoneStopTheDamnMatch

Leave a Reply

