INTERVIEW WITH SEAN SMITH

We recently had a chat with Sean Smith, former lead singer of rock band The Blackout about his love of professional wrestling. Find him on Twitter @SeanSmithSucks  
When did you start watching wrestling? 

I started watching when I was really young. I remember watching Macho Man Randy Savage vs Ricky Steamboat on TV and being blown away. Music then took over my life in the early 2000s and I kind of lost interest until Wrestlemania 30 when me and my friends sat down to watch it and fell back in love with it all.   

Who was your favourite wrestler when you were a kid? 

As a kid it was Bret Hart, I’m a sucker for a good colour combination and radical shades! He wasn’t too bad at the old fighting too.   

What are your earliest memories of wrestling? 

It’s either that Macho Man Randy Savage vs Ricky The Dragon Steamboat match or seeing Hulk Hogan going wild! (Pre racism!)   

What is your favourite match ever? 

If I ever show anyone why I like wrestling I show them THAT match between The Undertaker and Mankind at King Of The Ring 1998. You can’t fake that fall!   

What is the best wrestling show you’ve attended? 

I’ve been to a few Attack Pro Wrestling shows and they always entertain! I went to one in Bristol and it was a six team tag where the baby faces dressed as the Scooby Doo team and the heels were dressed as villains, I wasn’t sure if it was going to be good but I ended up losing my mind! Nixon Newell was playing “Thelma” from  Scooby Doo and she was pretending she lost her glasses and was blind so she was hip tossing anyone that ran towards her. She looked like she was about to hip toss the referee when he countered and arm dragged her and the crowd went wild. I ran towards the ring instinctively, just yelling at the ref! It was brilliant.   

What is your current favourite promotion to watch? 

I’ve recently found the Pro Wrestling Guerrilla DVDs so I’m working my way back through them. The Battle Of Los Angeles 2015 Stage 1 showcased some of the best wrestling I’ve seen.   

Who is your current favourite wrestler? 

At this moment, I’m gonna have to go with the Young Bucks! They are the perfect heels with a fantastic move set!   

Do you watch any British wrestling? 

I’ve been to a few Insane Championship Wrestling shows, Attack Pro and some Vertigo shows.   

Who is your favourite British wrestler? 

I truly believe that Grado has helped ALL independent and major wrestling by appearing in the Vice and BBC documentaries. People fell in love with it all again after seeing his passion and determination to work as a wrestler. After watching PWG Battle Of Los Angeles 2015 I’ve got even more respect for Mark Andrews. I’ve seen him a number of times in the UK but it wasn’t until I saw his match against Will Osprey when I saw his unbelievable move set and his real agility.   

 What do you think of the current state of British wrestling? 

Best it’s ever been!   

If you were a wrestler what would you call yourself and what would be your gimmick?

No need for a gimmick. I’m a prick. I’m a chopsy prick. I’m ready for a call up to NXT. Sean “the mouth of the South….WALES” Smith. Any wrestlers reading this that might need a manager gimme a shout!   

Have you ever met any wrestlers, if so who was your favourite? 

I’ve met a few. I’ve been lucky enough to know people at a few promotions so I get to sneak in sometimes. I went to see ICW in Nottingham and Grado was outside (I had known him for a year or two prior to this) when I walk over to say hello he says “Sean Ya cunt…Ya know my man SABU?” Then introduces me to him. I remember thinking that was quite mad because of been a Sabu fan for years. That night me, my friends, Grado and a few other ICW wrestlers ended up in a bar it just so happened that WWE was in town and we ended up having drinks with Adrian Neville and Finn Balor. It was a good night!    

SOMEONE STOPS THE DAMN MATCH!!



Thanks to Sean for taking the time to have a chat with us, let us know what you thought over on the Facebook page at https://www.facebook.com/SomeoneStopTheDamnMatch

Leave a Reply

