INTERVIEW WITH ‘THE PRIDE OF WALES’ EDDIE DENNIS!!

We recently had a chat with The Pride Of Wales Eddie Dennis about his life in the wrestling industry and what it means to him being a pro wrestler, you can find him on Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/EddieDennisWrestling/  
What first got you into wrestling?

Not quite sure, I think it was when I must’ve been about 5 WCW was on late night on Channel 4. My dad would tape it and we’d watch it together the day after. Whenever I’d go round a friends house who had SKY TV I’d always try and watch WWF. Then I think Christmas 1991 I had wrestling figures and a ring for Christmas. Since then it’s pretty much been my favourite thing.  

Who was your favourite wrestler as a kid?

When I first watched wrestling it was Sting. Then when I got into WWF I loved The Ultimate Warrior. During their respective era’s near the top I was a massive fan of Shawn Michaels in the mid 90’s and Stone Cold Steve Austin in the late 90’s.  

Who was the biggest influence on your career?

Influences are hard because I was most influenced by those people I watched as a child but I wasn’t aware they were influencing me, I was just a big fan. As I got older and started training I became a big fan of the likes of Nigel McGuiness and Chris Hero so I suppose i would class them as influences also.  

What has been the biggest achievement of your career so far?
There are a few which stand out I think. Winning the tag titles at Progress with Mark Andrews was obviously a big moment. It was the first show in the ballroom and my sister came with her husband to watch. The last time she’d seen my live was in a tiny community hall in Canton so it was great for her to see how far it had progressed. Main eventing the ballroom at chapter 15 was another milestone. I’d be remiss not to mention the body of work produced by Attack too. It’s basically just a company of all of my friends and we’ve created a real niche that has a definite following within the UK.  

Who has been your favourite opponent to work with?

I like wrestling my friends! Pete Dunne, Mark Andrews, Mike Bird the list goes on. Outside of my close group of mates I had a great time working with Chris Hero recently for Pro Wrestling Chaos, I’d love to do that again!  

What does wrestling mean to you?

This is too much of a hippy question for me, I have no idea how to answer it! Wrestling is what I do on weekends I guess. It’s where I get to go on cool road trips and hangout with all my friends! In the real world I’m a headmaster in a private school and live a pretty chilled life with my girlfriend, wrestling lets me act like someone 10 years my junior every weekend!  

What do you think of the current state of the British wrestling scene?

The British scene is booming at the moment. For years we’ve paid Americans above the odds to come over here and be the stars and ‘draws’ on our shows. Now UK guys like Jimmy Havoc at Progress or Grado at ICW are the draws. UK guys are being flown out to the United States and treated like the star attractions like at PWG BOLA and CHIKARA King Of Trios this year. The next 12 months can only mean good things for the UK scene!  

Who would be your dream opponent?

Another hard one to answer. Obviously who wouldn’t want to wrestle Steve Austin at Wrestlemania or something like that!! With regards to ‘realistic’ dream opponents I’ve always wanted to wrestle Chris Hero and that happened earlier this year which was pretty cool. I’d love to wrestle Zack Sabre Jr as I think he’s probably the best independent talent in the world right now. I’ve known him for a while and love the style he wrestles, so that’s definitely a goal for me. Me and Mandrews vs The Young Bucks at Progress would be a laugh too I suppose! Hahaha  

Who do you see as the next big thing in British wrestling?

Everyone’s going to be biased on things like this but I think Pete Dunne is one of the best guys on the scene right now, so good at everything! I wouldn’t be at all surprised if Will Ospreay is working for Dragon Gate before too long also. Either that or I could definitely see him on Best Of The Super Juniors in New Japan next year.  

Where do you see yourself in 12 months time?

Living in a nice 3 bed house with my Girlfriend, still working as a headmaster and hopefully still dropping the occasional fool on weekends! I have no real ambitions left in wrestling. This is something I do as an escape on the weekends, if in 12 months I’m still a regular at Progress, Attack, Chaos, FCP and places like that, I’ll be a happy man!  

Will we be seeing Eddie Mysterio Junior anytime soon? 

Eddie Mysterio made a rare appearance at IPW a month or so ago (I’ve lost the mask so it was technically Eddie Sin Cara!) It’s something I did as a joke in our match against the Swords of Essex and it just caught fire I guess. It’s a cool thing I can bust out when the time is right!   

Will the world ever find out what F.S.U stands for?

FSU was a militant Straight Edge gang back in the day that used to beat up drug dealers! The story goes that they told people it stood for Friends Stand United when in fact it stood for Fuck Shit Up. Me and Mark are far from Straight Edge but were both massively into the punk rock DIY culture so we took the name from there. When we won the tag titles we released 2 shirts. A white one that read Friends Stand United and a black one that read Fuck Shit Up. I guess in short, it means both.  

If anyone has never seen an Eddie Dennis match before, what should they expect? 

Urgh, awkward…. A cool entrance where I dance around in a silly pink and green singlet, that’s about it! Nah, I’m not sure I think it depends on the context of the match.   

Do you have any advice for anyone thinking of becoming a wrestler?

Go to a reputable school and learn how to do it properly. Also once you’ve had your first match it’s ridiculous to think that means training is over, keep attending forever. Once you’re ready for shows get yourself professional gear, professional photos and jump on the Merch bandwagon asap. Perception is everything in wrestling. Also, make sure it’s fun! I have the best of time wrestling. The chances of making it and the risks involved means it’s really not worth doing if you’re not having fun!!  

SOMEONE STOP THE DAMN MATCH!!
Massive thanks to Eddie for taking time out to answer our questions, let us know what you thought of the interview over on our Facebook page at https://www.facebook.com/SomeoneStopTheDamnMatch

Leave a Reply

