INTERVIEW WITH BRITISH WRESTLER CHRIS BROOKES!!

We recently had an interview with British wrestler Chris Brookes, you can find him on Twitter at @OBEYBrookesIf you want to see what Chris is all about check out this video at http://youtu.be/Sn7PgMPLec4

  
Who trained you to become a pro wrestler?

I was trained by The Hunter Brothers, Clarke twins and Brandon Thomas initially for Alpha Wrestling Evolution then later by Fight Club: PRO.   

Who has been your favourite opponent you’ve fought so far in your career?

It’s hard to pick just one but I think I have great chemistry with Nixon, Tyler Bate, Pete Dunne, Dan Moloney, Ryan Smile and that always leads to fun matches quite regularly. More irregularly I love being in the ring with Zack Sabre Jr., he’s outstanding.  

Who has been the biggest influence on your career?

Jonathan Gresham was a big influence in my earlier years during his long excursions, since then I’ve taken a lot of knowledge from Pete Dunne and would definitely go as far to say without his guidance I would not be where I am now.    

Who would be your dream opponent to face in the ring?

Johnny Saint as I love his style of wrestling and think these days to find someone who can do it to such a level is very rare if not extinct.   

What is your finishing move?

Either a sheer drop Michinoku Driver or the Octopus Stretch of which the name is very appropriate. Wrap yourself around your opponent like an octopus then contort their joints.   

What do you think of the current state of British wrestling?

I first started watching British Wrestling shows around 2005/6 and I think the difference is night and day. Things are much better now.   

What promotions do you actively wrestle for?

ATTACK! Pro Wrestling in Bristol/Cardiff, Fight Club: PRO in Wolverhampton, Great Bear, TETSUJIN, VII Pro/Underground, wXw in Germany, Ironfist, PLEX and KOW.  

What does wrestling mean to you?

A chance to entertain and doing something I grew up loving. It’s very fulfilling. 

 
Where do you see yourself in 12 months time?

Same place I see myself now; in the mirror.   

 I recently watched the Tetsujin tournament, what was it like wrestling in that style of tournament?

Fantastic! I was humbled to be asked to participate in the tournament as a big fan of the UWFi/BattlArts style.   

How would you describe your style of wrestling?

Unique.   

Where does Calamari Catch originate from?

Gresham and I needed a team name and the Octopus Stretch was a common theme as something I’d adopted from him and we noticed all good team names had alliteration.   

What should someone who has never seen a Chris Brookes match expect?

Boots in the face, submissions and a floppy fringe.  

SOMEONE STOP THE DAMN MATCH!!
Big thanks to Chris for taking the time out to have a chat with us and supplying us with some photos, let us know what you thought of the interview over on the Facebook page at https://www.facebook.com/SomeoneStopTheDamnMatch

Leave a Reply

