INTERVIEW WITH BRITISH WRESTLER JACK GALLAGHER

We had a chat with British wrestler and all round extraordinary gentleman Jack Gallagher, find him on Twitter at @GentlemanJackG and buy his merch at http://grappledays.bigcartel.com

  
What first got you into wrestling?

My earliest pro wrestling memory is Mick Foley winning his first WWF title on Raw Is War. I’d been told pro wrestling was something I HAD to watch and after I’d started I found I had no wish to stop.  


Who was your favourite wrestler as a kid?

Mankind, Steve Austin, X-Pac and Chris Benoit. All for different reasons, I suppose. X-Pac had nunchucks, That was pretty cool.  

Who has been the biggest influence on your career?

Roy Wood. (Not the lead singer of the 80s glam rock band, Wizzard. The catch-as-catch-can wrestling coach from Wigan.) Simply because he got me into shape, helped refine my wrestling and the name recognition of the Snake Pit gym gave me a pedigree.  


Who would be your dream opponent?

I’d like to say Billy Robinson, but I imagine he would have chewed me up and spit me out in five minutes flat. Antonio Inoki would be one, because it seemed as though every big name foreign wrestler had an hour long match with him at some point in the seventies. Jushin Liger, as well. Liger doesn’t have bad matches.  


On the other hand who has been your favourite opponent so far?

Zack Gibson. We’ve wrestled quite a few times over the years and it feels as though our wrestling has grown up together. The matches are always familiar yet new.  


I have seen you wrestle in many different places in the UK, where has been your favourite place to wrestle?

Glasgow, The fans are the good kind of crazy.  


Who do you think is the next big thing in British wrestling?

I’d be remiss if I didn’t at least say a part of me believes I will be. But shameless self-promotion aside, I’d say Zack Gibson. He’s still not gotten the recognition he probably deserves as an all round performer.  


What do you think of the current state of British wrestling?

ICW had 4,000 paying fans watch two Scottish wrestlers in the main event and I’m a believer in a rising tide raises all ships.Previously there had to be some sort of recognition from an international talent for a British wrestler to be taken seriously. Now we’re all standing on our own two feet.  


What has been your greatest achievement in your career so far?

Wrestling in a sold out Korakuen Hall in Tokyo is up there. Wrestling for close to an hour in combined match times in a single night — although I want to be able to have at least one hour long match in my career. Getting recognition off the older generation of British wrestlers means the most though. I sometimes feel as though I’m nothing more than a tribute act, so a nod of approval goes a long way.  


How did you manage to get up to 400lbs?

Whole milk and a dozen eggs with every meal.  


Apart from yourself who do you think has been the best big man in wrestling?

“Big” Damo O’Connor is really fantastic and Rampage Brown too.  


Where do you see yourself in 12 months time?

I honestly couldn’t tell you. Not because I don’t have a plan, I’m just currently exploring multiple options right now. Safe to say I’ll still be wrestling professionally, I’ll more than likely have a handlebar moustache and I’ll have continued to add to my grappling bag of tricks.  


What advice would you give to anyone thinking of getting into the wrestling business?

Expect to work hard and realise that it will always be a continual learning process. Oh and everyone is terrible when they start, so bear with it and keep trying to improve.  


What should someone expect if they have never seen a Jack Gallagher match before?

A mix of vaudevillian showmanship, traditional British wrestling and feats of strength you wouldn’t think possible of a five foot eight man.  


Finally, what does wrestling mean to you?
 

There’s a complex question. Very existential. I often think about how I’ve been involved in wrestling for over a third of my life now. By the time I’m thirty I’ll have been around wrestling for half my life (from the time I first began training onwards) meaning from that birthday on I’ll have spent more time as a wrestler than as not. It does define a lot of who I am, and how other people in my life perceive me. I’m not sure what it means to me. I think that comes when I’m finished with it and I look back. For now, wrestling is what I do, for I am a wrestler. (I wrestle therefore I am? No No That’s terrible)  


SOMEONE STOP THE DAMN MATCH!!


Big thanks to Jack for taking his time out to answer our questions, let us know what you thought of the interview over on the Facebook page at
https://www.facebook.com/SomeoneStopTheDamnMatch

Leave a Reply

