INTERVIEW WITH LIVERPOOL’S OWN ZACK GIBSON!!

We had the pleasure of chatting with one of the best talents on the British wrestling scene today, Liverpool’s own Zack Gibson. Find him on Twitter at @ZackGibson01  
What first got you into wrestling?

I was the biggest power rangers fan in the world as a kid, larger than life characters in over the top ridiculous fights, the transition to wrestling was seamless.  

Who was your favourite wrestler when you were a kid ?

My favorite as a kid was Jeff Hardy, I loved his image and some of the ridiculous stunts he did. As a kid that blew my mind, as I got older my tastes changed but 10 year old me was obsessed with Jeff Hardy.   

Who was the biggest influence on your career?

It’s really hard to say this, I have so many influences and I have taken on board advice from so many, it wouldn’t be fair for me to pick one.  

What has been the biggest achievement of your career so far?

As far as in ring accolades go I think maybe winning the Davey Boy Smith Cup on national TV in Liverpool may be it, but honestly there’s so many things I’m proud of and some of the remarks from people behind the scenes I actually consider my biggest achievements, but they’re another story for another time.  

Who has been your favourite opponent to work with in the ring?

There are so many, I wish I could go into detail on them all but if you forced me to give one answer I’d have to go with Jack Gallagher, he’s somebody who I’ve been around for most of my career. My series with him in GPW was the highlight of my early career and recently our series in Futureshock is some of my best work to date, great guy backstage and in my opinion the best technical wrestler in the world.  

What does wrestling mean to you?

Wrestling is my life, my only passion and the only thing I’ve ever really wanted to do.  

What do you think of the current state of the British wrestling scene?

British wrestling is doing awesome things right now, the scene is booming and the top British guys can do proper wrestling just as good as anybody in the world.  

Who would be your dream opponent to face?

Again there are so many, if I had to pick one I’d say Shawn Michaels because he may just be the best professional wrestler of all time.  

Apart from yourself, who do you see as the next big thing in British wrestling?

Someone who goes under the radar but will no doubt explode soon is James Drake. He has worked more matches than all of the new guys on the scene and he really knows the job, really interesting and an exciting performer who’s been driven to do this job since he was about 13 (when I first met him) there’s simply no way he won’t be a big deal.  

Where do you see yourself in 12 months time?

It’s hard to say exactly where, but I know the overall end goal and I know I’m on track. I also know that the journey is amazing so I’m just gonna enjoy it.  

For someone who has never seen Zack Gibson live before, what should they expect to see when they do? 

The best all around pro wrestler in the UK.  

SOMEONE STOP THE DAMN MATCH!!
Huge thanks to Zack for taking part in this interview, let us know what you thought of the interview over on our Facebook page at https://www.facebook.com/SomeoneStopTheDamnMatch

Leave a Reply

