INTERVIEW WITH BRITISH WRESTLER LEWIS GIRVAN!!

We had a chat with The Best Young Wrestler and ICW Catchweight Champion Lewis Girvan, you can find him on Twitter at @LewisCEGirvan and on Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/Lewis-Girvan-517969611652517/   
What first got you into wrestling?

WWE Smackdown vs Raw 2008, watching over my brothers shoulder as he played peaked my interest. I’ve been obsessed ever since.  

Who was your favourite wrestler as a kid?

It’s the same now as it was then,The Undertaker. To me the perfect combination of great worker and great gimmick.  

Who has been the biggest influence on your career?

I’d say guys like The Undertaker and CM Punk were big influences because I loved their work so much but also my trainers Damien O’Connor, Mikey Whiplash and Robbie Brookside because they taught me so much. Through their teachings their opinions and beliefs on wrestling will have influenced my own.  

What has been the biggest achievement of your career so far?

Becoming the first ever N7 Champion, wrestling Drew Galloway for the ICW World Championship, having match of the night in the Barrowlands against Mikey Whiplash, wrestling to crown the first ever Y Division Champion against Chris Sabin. I’m immensely proud of all of them for different reasons so I couldn’t really choose one as the biggest.  

Who has been your favourite opponent to wrestle?

I like different guys for different reasons but two that really stand out would be Solar and Zack Sabre Jr. Solar because he and I have a very natural chemistry in the ring, our matches have always been amongst my favourites. I love wrestling Zack because he always pushes me to be better, I need to give 100% to keep up with Zack and I love that challenge. I want to be the best and the only way to do that is to be in there with the best.  

Why should we agree with you that you are the best young wrestler?

Because I’ve proven it time and time again. Look at my matches with the likes of Jonathan Gresham, Zack Sabre Jr, Chuck Taylor, Ultimo Dragon and Super Crazy, I’ve been in there with some of the best wrestlers on the planet and more than held my own. Moreover, I’m the most well rounded young wrestler in the world, there is no aspect of the game in which I’m lacking. Technical wrestling, high flying, brawling, high impact manoeuvres, I can do it all in the ring.  

What do you think of the current state of the British wrestling scene?

Better than ever and still on the rise. There’s so much talent on the scene today that it can only get bigger.  

Who would be your dream opponent to face in the ring?

Right now, Shinsuke Nakamura. He’s probably the best wrestler in the world right now, he’s extremely talented in every facet of wrestling and that’s exactly the kind wrestler I want to be in the ring with. Of all time, The Undertaker because to me he is everything that a wrestler should be.  

Apart from yourself who do you see as a next big thing in ICW?

Watch out for Dave Conrad, the living definition of potential. He hasn’t even scratched the surface of what he’s capable of yet.  

Where do you see Lewis Girvan in 12 months time?

The ICW Zero G Champion, The Discovery Y Division Champion and The SWA Jr Heavyweight Champion. Travelling the length and breadth of the UK and Europe doing what I do better than anyone else, Wrestling.

  
SOMEONE STOP THE DAMN MATCH!!
Thanks to Lewis for taking part in our interview, be sure to let us know what you think of the interview over on the Facebook page at https://www.facebook.com/SomeoneStopTheDamnMatch

Leave a Reply

