TODAY’S FAN OF THE DAY IS JAY GALLACHER!! 

WE HAVE BEEN ASKING SOME OF THE FANS OF THE BLOG A FEW QUESTIONS ABOUT WRESTLING!! AS WITHOUT THE FANS THERE WOULD BE NO WRESTLING INDUSTRY!!   
Today’s fan is Jay Gallacher from Glasgow, Scotland.   

When did you start watching wrestling? 

I cant honestly remember I used to watch it with my Gran when it was on World Of Sport. I used to stay with her and she would tell me one of our family was a wrestler, she would always point him out and I never believed her until she took me. I was so young though but I do remember meeting Big Daddy, Giant Haystacks and Catweazle, my Gran looks at me now and says when you are going to cut that hair and beard you look like Catweazle haha.  

 Who was your favourite wrestler when you were younger?

I have two The Undertaker and Mankind (the old mankind when he did the boiler room stuff not the toned down one) I honestly don’t know what it was that made me take notice but when The Undertaker made his debut he was my guy his music was so damn good in a time where everyone wanted to be Hulk Hogan or Ultimate Warrior. I always wanted to be the Undertaker, when I saw Mankind the eerie entrance music the way he walked to the ring, head tilted to the side and pulling his hair out I thought this guy is so good, I like dark characters.

What are your earliest memories of wrestling? 

Back when I used to stay with my Gran, she loved it and allowed me to watch wrestling when most kids would be in bed for about 9pm. I would be up till around 1am watching wrestling, I would say i’d have been around 7 years old at the time.   

What is your favourite match ever? 
King of the Ring 1998 Mankind vs The Undertaker in Hell In A Cell, I was so torn for this match I had my two all time favourte wrestlers going head to head, I remember it kicked off around 3:15am and I was so tired but this was the match I wanted to see by 3:25am my heart was racing as I just saw Mankind thrown from the top of the cell. In my mind I was thinking throw him off but I never thought it would have happened when it did I thought holy fuck and instantly picked up the phone to call my brother but then I remembered the time, but I needed to talk to someone to say “DID YOU FUCKING SEE THAT”. I thought that that was the end of the match but how wrong was I as Mick gets up and walks down laughing climbs back up only to end up being chokeslamed through the cell roof.   

What is your current favourite promotion to watch? 

Insane Championship Wrestling, It caters for everyone it has comedy, great storylines and feuds. But most of all the best talent in Europe all on our doorstep, wrestling 5 star matches that WWE can only dream of. 

What is the best wrestling show you’ve attended? 

There have been so many but it has to be this years ICW Square Go, as it was full of highs and lows. The buzz that we all got when Chris Renfrew beat Grado in an epic match, to the gut wrenching feeling of seeing Joe Coffey go the distance in the Square Go match but only to be thrown out by Wolfgang.  

Who is current favourite wrestler? 

Joe Coffey, He is top class and puts on a great performance every time in any style of match. I loved the ironman match with Jack Gallagher, it was full of outstanding technical brilliance from both wrestlers.      

What do you think of the current state of British wrestling? 

Its in great shape, there is such great talent wrestling in the UK and anyone of them can turn up at a show you are at. It is a great time to be a wrestling fan in the UK . 

Have you ever met any wrestlers?  

Mick Foley when he did his show at The Stand in Glasgow, when he did his promo as if when he was Mankind it was like I was shot back in time and I was 15 years old again. I was only about a yard from him cutting the promo and it was an outstanding night, also got my picture with him. Who can say they met their wrestling hero? I did and also met The Undertaker at WH Smiths when they did a tour in the UK in the early 90s, but that was chaos and I couldn’t appreciate it as I was only around 10 or 11 years old.  

SOMEONE STOP THE DAMN MATCH!!
Thanks to Jay for being today’s Fan Of The Day, if you want to be a Fan Of The Dat let us know over on the Facebook page at https://www.facebook.com/SomeoneStopTheDamnMatch and we will be in touch.

Leave a Reply

