INTERVIEW WITH BRITISH WRESTLER KENNY KYD!!

After having in my opinion the match of the night tonight at SWE Too Hot For PG in Dundee against Ian Ambrose it seemed a perfect time to post my interview with Kenny Kyd. Find him on Twitter @TheKennyKyd and on Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/kennykyd/  
What first got you into watching pro wrestling?

My first memories were sitting with my mum’s partner when I was very young. I had a copy of Royal Rumble ’92 that I must have watched hundreds of times between catching the occasional WWF/WCW shows. I actually grew out of it for a long time though; unlike most wrestlers my teens were spent without wrestling. It was only about 4 years ago that I got back into it after my girlfriend reintroduced me to it.   

Who was your favourite wrestler when you were a kid?

Roddy Piper, without a doubt. For no other reason than he was Scottish (at least that’s what I believed back then).   

What made you want to be a pro wrestler?

Back when I was a kid, you had to be 6’5″ and 225lbs+ to be considered a wrestler. I was also far too young to appreciate the work wrestlers do. So when I started watching again it was nice for me to see that wrestlers of all sizes and statures have been more accepted even in the major promotions. When I read that SWE was opening their training school in Dundee it was an opportunity I couldn’t pass up.   

Who was your trainers?

I credit David Low and Jay Gauldie for the bulk of my training so far.   

Who has been your favourite opponent so far?

LJT, without a doubt. We had a match last month for the SWE Future Division Championship, and he has a great way of working that challenged me like no one else has so far and he took me out of my comfort zone without being overwhelming. He’s also one of the most humble and selfless men I’ve ever met, which seems to be a rarity in this business from what I’ve seen!  

Who has been the biggest influence on your career?

Folk like Drew Galloway, Grado, Damo and Nikki Storm have proven that you can come from a tiny country on a tiny island and make a name for yourself all over the world. As a smaller guy, I found Daniel Bryan to be one of the most relatable people to me as both a fan and an aspiring worker. I also credit guys like Chris Jericho, Jushin Liger, Cesaro, and Katsuyori Shibata for getting me excited about wrestling again.   

Who would be your dream opponent?

If I could pick any wrestler in the world right now I’d love to have a match with AJ Styles. He is such a brilliant all-round wrestler that could work different styles of wrestling in the same match really well and push me to my limit. More locally, I’d love to work with Mikey Whiplash.   

What is your finishing move?

The single-leg running knee. Someone has to do it while Daniel Bryan is out injured, so why not me?  

What do you think of the current state of British wrestling?

I don’t think I could have picked a better time to start watching wrestling again. Scotland alone is making a huge footprint in the wrestling world with promotions like ICW casting international eyes on us, while wrestling in the rest of the UK is bigger than it has been in decades. You’ve got huge promotions like ROH and NJPW sending their talent over regularly to wrestle Britain’s most talented while on-demand services are helping build fanbases and letting people find an easy alternative to the likes of WWE and TNA.   

What promotions do you actively wrestle for?

I’ve been wrestling for SWE for just under a year, though I recently made my debut for Reckless Intent. Hopefully I can add a few others to this list soon.   

What does wrestling mean to you? 

Pro wrestling is a perfect medium to display virtually any physical expression. Some people might prefer to watch the heavyweights showing off their strength, some prefer to watch the smaller guys for their athletic abilities; some like to watch stiff strong-style strikes; or to see the human body pushed to the extreme in death matches, and some people might prefer to watch promos and talking segments. What I love most is that wrestling can encompass all of this and bring all of these people together. No one is passionate about anything in the world more than wrestlers and their fans are about wrestling.   

Where do you see yourself in 12 months time?

By the end of this year I want to say I’ve wrestled all over Scotland, if not further. I’m taking each day as it comes and anything can happen in pro wrestling so I’m okay with leaving my future a surprise.   

What should someone who has never seen a Kenny Kyd match expect?

I’ve always been a huge fan of Japan, and that carried over when I started wrestling so I try to marry that relationship. I like to kick people, and knee people, and just generally use my body to strike people. If that fails I’m more than happy to risk my body throwing myself at someone if it leads me to victory.  

SOMEONE STOP THE DAMN MATCH!!

Big thanks to Kenny for taking the time out to have a chat with us, let us know what you thought of the interview over on the Facebook page at https://www.facebook.com/SomeoneStopTheDamnMatch

Leave a Reply

