INTERVIEW WITH BRITISH WRESTLER MICHAEL CHASE!!

We had a chat with Scottish wrestler and the man who recently defeated former WCW and WWE Cruiserweight Champion Juventud Guerrera at the last Discovery Wrestling show, Michael Chase. Find him on Twitter at @michael_chase89 and on Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/recklessintentmikey/  What first got you into watching pro wrestling?

I first got in to wrestling back when I was maybe 6 or 7, It was my friend at primary school who loved wrestling. He would come in talking about guys like Bret Hart and X-Pac. It all sounded great and I was at his house after school one time and he put on some tapes he had recorded,I loved it. From there the obsession with wrestling grew. I watched tapes, got the toy rings and action figures.   

Who was your favourite wrestler when you were a kid?

For me when I started watching the guys that stood out to me were The Hardyz and Edge & Christian. They were smaller guys doing the crazy stuff. I loved guys like Triple H and The Rock as well.   

What made you want to be a pro wrestler?

I had just left school and I hadn’t watched wrestling much through high school with football really taking over. But when we were on exam leave from school a few of us would stay up and watch the ppvs and watch Raw every week. I really got in to wrestling again, I was bored playing football and just stopped playing it.I wasn’t really doing much for a while when a friend told me of a local place that did wrestling training, I went along and gave it a go and from there I was hooked I wanted to do this. However it didn’t quite work out and after a few years there I walked away with a very disgruntled outlook of the wrestling business, I wasn’t involved with wrestling for a few years. It was 2012 and I had just had ACL reconstruction surgery when I got involved with a company called Reckless Intent. That place reignited my passion for wanting to wrestle and since then wrestling has been my life, It is all I want to do.    

Who were your trainers?

I have many influences in my training, my time at Reckless Intent with Scott Renwick taught me a lot. I spent some time at Source where I had training with Damian O’Connor and Jam O’Malley and in the last year I trained with Chris Renfrew when he has been a regular guest trainer at Reckless Intents school. When it comes to training I am always looking to get out and train with as many different people as there is so many great people out there to learn from.   

Who has been your favourite opponent so far?

It is difficult to pick just one, my recent match with Joe Coffey on ICW was a match I really enjoyed. I also have loved wrestling Lewis Girvan, Big Damo, Scott Renwick, Chris Renfrew and Stallyon in the last year. But the opponent that always brings the best out in me is Joe Hendry, we just click really well when we are in the ring and is right up there as one of my favourite opponents.   

Who has been the biggest influence on your career? 

There are so many people who have had an influence on me, mostly the people who have been involved in my training are biggest influences. I have a lot of good positive people around me, some involved in wrestling and some who are not they are constantly pushing me to stay focused and continue to improve.   

Who would be your dream opponent? 

There are so many people I would love to wrestle. If I could pick anyone from the Scottish scene right now I would love to wrestle Mikey Whiplash.   

What is your finishing move? 

My finishing move is a Springboard Splash.   

What do you think of the current state of British wrestling? 

British Wrestling is the hottest wrestling scene in the world right now. It continues to grow and go from strength to strength.   

What promotions do you actively wrestle for? 

I actively wrestle for ICW, Reckless Intent Wrestling and Discovery Wrestling.   

What does wrestling mean to you? 

I love wrestling. Wrestling gave me a purpose in life and I couldn’t imagine my life without it.   

Where do you see yourself in 12 months’ time? 

In 12 month’s time I want to be wrestling as much as I possibly can.   

What should someone who has never seen a Michael Chase match expect?

I would say my matches are hard hitting, high risk and I never back down from a fight!  

SOMEONE STOP THE DAMN MATCH!!

Massive thanks to Michael for taking the time out to chat with us, be sure to let us know what you thought of the interview over on our Facebook page https://www.facebook.com/SomeoneStopTheDamnMatch

Leave a Reply

