INTERVIEW WITH BRITISH WRESTLER AUSTIN OSIRIS!!

We recently had a chat with Austin Osiris ahead of his debut for ICW in the Tag Team Title Tournament as part of the Rich Kids Of Instagram. Find him on Twitter at @_AustinOsiris and Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/AustinOsiris/
What first got you into watching pro wrestling?

I was 4 years old and my neighbour was watching WCW and I was just captivated with Sting and Hulk Hogan. It was around the Sting Crow era stuff and I just thought it was the coolest thing ever that Sting could stand up to and fight off the entire NWO. Soon after that I discovered the WWF and Shawn Michaels and Triple H and I’ve never looked back.

Who was your favourite wrestler when you were a kid?

My first favourite wrestler was Sting but when I moved over to WWF it was Triple H and still is to this day. For me every single person I knew was a fan of The Rock or Stone Cold but at a very young age I was able to see Triple H’s talent and for some reason I became a huge fan! I remember after Triple H defeated Cactus Jack in Hell In A Cell they played a tribute video for Foley that DX had tampered with and I used to play that on repeat all the time, I thought it was brilliant!

What made you want to be a pro wrestler?

I ask myself that every single day! For me wrestling has always been a constant. I’ve not had the easiest of up bringings and I’ve been through a lot of stuff but for me wrestling was always my escape. I could put on a match or a PPV and just forget the world around me for a while. It was something I always wanted to do but there was a time period where I lost all of my confidence in myself and lost my way for a little while. I found other ways to work in the Wrestling business, working backstage and doing as many jobs as I could, then when I found out that GPWA was opening up in the office I was working in I saw an opportunity and I was the first person to walk through the doors of the Asylum on day one.

Who was your trainer?

I train at GPWA so my trainers are BT Gunn, Jack Jester, Lionheart, Red Lightning, and Wolfgang! There are other amazing trainers out there, we are very lucky in Scotland right now to have such an incredibly talented group of coaches training young talent but for me I feel that the Asylum trainers are the perfect balance of everything you need to become a pro wrestler. That combined with their efforts to bring in guest seminars from around the world has really created an amazing training environment.

Who has been your favourite opponent so far?

I’ve had a lot of great matches but my favourite opponents so far would probably be Davey Blaze and TJ Rage. We wrestled them in Pro Wrestling Elite after we answered Fight Club’s open challenge for their Tag Team Championships. To date I would say it’s the best match I have ever had and those guys were brilliant to work with. There was also involvement from Kay Lee Ray and Carmel who’s death matches in ICW was what got me to buy my first ticket so that was pretty special for me.

Who has been the biggest influence on your career?

That is actually a tough question. At this point in my career I would say it would have to be my coaches. I’ve tried my best to take different bits and pieces of what they do and bring it into my own style of wrestling. There are obviously wrestlers who I have watched all my life who have influenced me such as Daniel Bryan who taught me that even a smaller guy could do what we do.

Who would be your dream opponent?

The obvious answer here would be Triple H as he has been my favourite wrestler of all time and I’m sure he would have a lot of fun throwing me about. In terms of Scottish Wrestling, honestly I have a list that goes on for days of who I’d like to wrestle. I’ve been around backstage for around 5 years now so I’ve been there to see a lot of them evolve and become who they are now so it would be incredible to step in the ring with them as I am growing up in the business.

What is your finishing move?

The Starkiller – It’s a standing sliced bread type maneuver similar to the Solida Del Sol that Kalisto uses except I land with my body flat out and drive my opponents head and back into the canvas. Star Wars fans will be able to figure out the name, and it’s not just from the latest film.

What do you think of the current state of British wrestling?

The best it has ever been. There are so many GOOD places to work and so many guys and girls who are busting there ass to make everywhere they go and everybody they wrestle better. I’d say it’s a safe bet that in 5 years time British Wrestling will be doing the numbers of the World Of Sport days again, there are a few companies already drawing crowds that size.

What promotions would you like to wrestle for?

I’d love to wrestle for any promotion that will have me because any promotion is a new place to learn and a new crowd to work in front of. Because I have worked backstage there for so long obviously working for Insane Championship Wrestling has always been a dream of mine and obviously working for WWE is the ultimate goal. So far I have wrestled in Scotland and Wales so I wouldn’t mind the chance to work in England or Ireland so that I can say I have wrestled everywhere in Britain, and the chance to wrestle abroad would be cool too.

What does wrestling mean to you? 

It’s my life. 24/7. If I’m not in the ring training or at a show then I’m working on stuff to do with wrestling, or I am watching wrestling, or thinking about wrestling. As I said in an earlier question it’s always been my constant through hard times and it always will be. There is no better feeling in the world than being in front of a crowd with the adrenaline flowing through your body during a match, just thinking about it now has given me chills.

Where do you see yourself in 12 months time?

In Orlando, Florida at Wrestlemania…… because we have planned a trip to go watch it! I see myself continuing what I am doing and hopefully getting as many bookings as I can and wrestling as many people as I can. I want to get to a level one day where I can help pitch in at The Asylum with training new talents, that likely won’t be in 12 months time but it’s a future goal of mine to give back to the place that has given so much to me.

What kind of impact are the Rich Kids Of Instagram looking to make in ICW? 

We plan to flaunt our lavish lifestyle, show everybody that we are the greatest, and pick up girls. Aaron Echo is one of the most naturally gifted athletes I have ever seen in my life! Kyle Khaos and myself have been tagging in the ring since the early days of the Asylum and we have developed and grown together as wrestlers and have great chemistry. We are a family and have found our way into ICW because we have connections, and that means simply YOU. CAN’T. TOUCH US!!!! Just watch and see. 

What should someone who has never seen a Austin Osiris match expect?

Expect to have fun, and expect to be loud. I don’t care if you love me or if you hate me I will perform at the highest level I can to ensure you enjoy yourself and that you can’t talk the next day from shouting or chanting too loudly.

SOMEONE STOP THE DAMN MATCH!!

Big thanks to Austin for the interview and be sure to check out the interviews with the rest of the Rich Kids Of Instagram, let us know what you thought of the interview on the Facebook page at https://www.facebook.com/SomeoneStopTheDamnMatch

One thought on “INTERVIEW WITH BRITISH WRESTLER AUSTIN OSIRIS!!

Leave a Reply

