CHIKARA week!! Interview with CHIKARA’s Argus!!

Our CHIKARA week continues here on the blog, ahead of CHIKARA’s Aniversario UK Tour at the end of May, as we spoke to The Gecko Roman wrestler Argus. Find him on Twitter at @CatchArgus 
What first got you into watching pro wrestling? 

In my mind my first memory is Bret Hart vs. Adam Bomb on WWF television. Every moment after that I was seeking out all the wrestling I could find on television, VHS tapes, everything. It’s an athletic and creative medium that just clicks in my mind. I’ve always believed it to be the greatest thing. 

Who was your favourite wrestler when you were a kid? 

I was a born Hulkamaniac, and typically loved the babyfaces of the day so would move on to The Ultimate Warrior. Call it being very young and impressionable. My first favorite wrestler from an in ring perspective was Eddie Guerrero. 

What made you want to be a pro wrestler? 

I couldn’t imagine what else I  would do with my life. I could have done anything else, this is the only thing I wanted since I saw it. As I alluded to in your first question, I believe it is the greatest thing.

Who was your trainer? 

I’m trained at the WrestleFactory and have been taught by Mike Quackenbush, Hallowicked, Chuck Taylor and am most closely mentored by Ophidian. 

Who has been your favourite opponent so far in CHIKARA? 

I got to grapple and trade strikes with Silver Ant in Massachusetts as part of an atomicos match, and really look forward to standing across the ring from him again in a trios at the Season 16 Premiere. He fights like the junior heavyweights from 90s New Japan and that’s the style that most captivated me. 

Who has been the biggest influence on your career? 

Ophidian has taken me under his wing since I came to Philadelphia, I’m always going to be greatful for his navigating me through the waters of CHIKARA while teaching me about the craft. 

Who would be your dream opponent to wrestle? 

In CHIKARA, at least, I have always wanted to get in a straight up fight with Eddie Kingston. His passion for the sport and grit in style always drew me in as a viewer, and I’ve only ever stood on the same side as him. There’s no discontent or grudge there, I just really want to compete with him. I respect him. 

What is your finishing move? 

I really haven’t established a definitive finishing maneuver. Finished Kevin Condron at the Season 15 finale with this really weird looking slam. Based on winks and nods, maybe not the best jumping off point. Look for me to try to hook a few new suplexes and the kata ha jime. 

What do you think of the current state of pro wrestling? 

It’s difficult to not be excited, there are more easily accessible television brands out there creating dynamic content on a week to week basis. And if you want to support the indies the WWE Network created a model that almost everyone has adopted. Look at Chikaratopia! Seriously, look at it. Sign up today. 

What has been the proudest moment of your CHIKARA career so far? 

For a brief moment, competing in the tag gauntlet at King of Trios 2015 next to Mascara Purpura. I’m proud of my entire time with CHIKARA. 

What are your ambitions in CHIKARA for 2016? 

I would like to challenge for the Campeonatos de Parejas with Ophidian and potentially earn a shot at the Grand Championship. I want to better myself as a wrestler and CHIKARA as a brand, hopefully the rest of the world will see something to appreciate in my efforts as well. 

If you could pick your own King Of Trios team for this year, who would you pick as your partners? 

Icarus and Drew Gulak. Icarus brings a wealth of trios and tag knowledge to the table and is skillful at taking advantage of good situations and tactics. Drew Gulak is no nonsense between the ropes, he knows what his job is and how to most painfully complete that task. Both of them are driven by success and can keep a level head while leading a greenhorn (green scale?) like me with their experience. Those might strike you as odd picks since none of us have much in common, save the love of wrestling and CHIKARA. 

What does wrestling mean to you? 

Wrestling is bae. No seriously, it’s nearly everything to me. I know I have to eat and drink water, breathe air, pay my bills, maintain healthy relationships. However, without wrestling in my life I would probably just be existing quite plainly or worse. 

What should someone who has never seen a Argus match expect? 

Pretty soon, some pants. I’m still, it feels like always, trying to find myself. The CHIKARMY is still watching me progress, and learn what does and does not work for me in there. I will try any tactic once until I get it right though. Just keep your eyes on me!

SOMEONE STOP THE DAMN MATCH!!
Huge thanks to Argus for taking time out to chat with us, be sure to check out the rest of our CHIKARA interviews this week and let us know what you think on our Facebook page at https://www.facebook.com/SomeoneStopTheDamnMatch


More information on the CHIKARA Aniversario UK Tour can be found at http://www.chikarauktour.bigcartel.com/ Their entire 2016 schedule is posted at ‪CHIKARApro.com‬. You can learn more about CHIKARA at chikarapro.com, or by following them on Twitter @chikarapro

Leave a Reply

