CHIKARA WEEK!! Interview with CHIKARA star Worker Ant!!

Our CHIKARA week continues here on the blog, ahead of CHIKARA’s Aniversario UK Tour at the end of May, as we spoke to The Black and Blue Bruiser Worker Ant. Find him on Twitter at @BlkBluAnt
What first got you into watching pro wrestling?

My late uncle introduced me to wrestling. Ever since, I was hooked!

Who was your favourite wrestler when you were a kid? 

Rey Mysterio Jr, because I grew up wanting to be different from everyone else in my family and he was by far the most different individual I have ever seen in my life!!

What made you want to be a pro wrestler?

I have this urge that can’t be satisfied unless I’m in front of an audience. Even after I’m done wrestling, that urge comes right back because all I want to do is wrestle again and again!

Who was your trainer?

Mike Quackenbush

Who has been your favourite opponent in CHIKARA so far?

Soldier Ant because he always brings the best out in me. The other ants haven’t really been against him as much as me and regardless of the circumstances it was always something special between me and him! Maybe it was the bond of hatred or maybe it was the hope of a bond of friendship!

Who has been the biggest influence on your career?

Eddie Guerrero, because he proved a lot of things when he was alive. Like, being one of the littlest guys to have ever won a major championship. To go toe to toe with some of the best wrestlers in this industry, to mix styles and make it his very own like being a technical wrestler at the same time being a highflyer!! If I can at least be half of the man that he was, that itself would be one of my greatest achievements! 

Who would be your dream opponent to meet in the ring?

Eddie Kingston in a one-on-one match! Now I know he works in the same company that I do but he is one of My goals! I know I could keep up with him I know I could take a bruisin’ but I also know I can give a bruise!!

What is like to be a member of The Colony?

One of the toughest obstacles in my entire life! If you asked me this when I was the assailANT, even though I was happy to be a part of the colony, it was very hard and very stressful because no one trusted me. However, now as Worker Ant and the whole Colony back together again, this will be the most greatest ride in my professional wrestling career!!

What has been the biggest achievement of your CHIKARA career to date?

Wrestling three on three at last year’s King Of Trios against the Bullet Club with my brothers in arms, the Battle Hive!! 

What is your finishing move?

The Rolling GTS (Get The Sugar) it’s a pump handle that goes into high knee lift to the opponents face!

What do you think of the current state of Pro wrestling?

I think it’s a very awesome time to be a wrestling fan. When you have a bunch of Indy guys about to take over in places like world wrestling entertainment, I honestly love it! Skies the limit and you don’t know what might happen both and TV land and on the independent circuit!!

What does wrestling mean to you? 

Wrestling is an art form, it’s as plain and simple as that. We are the artists and that ring is our Canvas. Chris Jericho said it best, “an artist creates something out of nothing”! I believe that to the fullest. Wrestling is the best source of entertainment because nothing in wrestling looks the same and if it did it wasn’t on purpose!

Where do you see yourself in 12 months time? 

Hopefully, having three points to the Chikara grand championship and solidifying my name as one of the best in this business!

What should someone who has never seen a Worker Ant match expect? 

Get ready for a smash mouth in your face bruiser style of a match. I wasn’t built to have a pretty match, I was built to bruise whoever stands across from me in that ring & at the same time, to teach my body how to get back up when I get bruised myself! 

SOMEONE STOP THE DAMN MATCH!!

Big thanks to Worker Ant for taking time out to chat with us, be sure to check out the rest of our CHIKARA interviews this week and let us know what you think on our Facebook page at https://www.facebook.com/SomeoneStopTheDamnMatch


More information on the CHIKARA Aniversario UK Tour can be found at http://www.chikarauktour.bigcartel.com/ Their entire 2016 schedule is posted at ‪CHIKARApro.com‬. You can learn more about CHIKARA at chikarapro.com, or by following them on Twitter @chikarapro

Leave a Reply

