CHIKARA WEEK!! Interview with CHIKARA wrestler Prakash Sabar!!

Our CHIKARA week continues here on the blog, ahead of CHIKARA’s Aniversario UK Tour at the end of May, as we spoke to United Nation’s member Prakash Sabar. Find him on Twitter at @PakistaniSabar
What first got you into watching pro wrestling?

I was never good at cricket or football, so growing up in Pakistan I didn’t have many friends. I didn’t have much to do but sit at home and watch wrestling.  Surprisingly, the only wrestling shown on TV was WWF 1993-1999, and WCW 1996-1999.

Who was your favourite wrestler when you were a kid?

I saw 1-2-3 Kid beat Razor Ramon ‪on Monday Night‬ Raw with the moonsault, right then he had my attention. He wasn’t the biggest guy, and neither was I but he showed me I could make it.

What made you want to be a pro wrestler?

Seeing X-Pac come back to the WWF in 1998 and run his mouth off about Eric Bischoff and WCW.  It taught me that I could say whatever I wanted, be obnoxious with my close friends and then kick and Bust Broncos of anyone who didn’t like it.  

Who was your trainer?


Noe Kwariani, a distant descendant of famed Georgian wrestler and chess master Kola Kwariani.  


Who has been your favourite opponent so far in CHIKARA?

I’d say Amasis, I always enjoy tangling with him.  At National Pro Wrestling Day 2015 we faced off in the World’s Sexiest Man competition, which had three parts:  Best Tongue, Pose Off, and Dance Off.  I won, of course, because I’m sexier than Amasis!  Then he always reminds me how much I dislike him by 540 kicking me in the face then pancaking me with the 450 splash.  “Onion Breath” Oleg is a close second in terms of favorite opponents.  He’s just got such a kickable face.  

Who has been the biggest influence on your career?

If you had asked me before King of Trios last year, I would have said Sean Waltman, but now I realize that he’s just a big dingleberry.  My new biggest influence is my fearless leader and Captain of the United Nations, the Top Banana, and winner of the 2015 Cibernetico, his name is Juan…. Francisco…. de Coronado.  Through his leadership I’ve reached new heights and been more successful than I ever imagined.  It was his help, confidence, and guidance that allowed me to hit the first ever Busted Bronco and rub it in Sean Waltman’s face.  

Who would be your dream opponent?

The dingleberry that I mentioned before to prove that he’s a “has been” and I’m a rising star.

What is your finishing move?

It’s the X-Factor, I just do it much better than Waltman.  I Bust Broncos better than him too!

What do you think of the current state of pro wrestling?

I think that wrestling today is amazing.  No matter what style you prefer, there’s a company for you.  Most companies have subscription services, like CHIKARA’s Chikaratopia.  With everyone being so connected by technology you can hear about and watch moments almost instantaneously, even without being present at a show.  

What has been the proudest moment of your CHIKARA career so far? 

It’s hard to pick just one.  My top three moments all rank very closely together and those are hitting my first ever Busted Bronco at King of Trios 2015, participating in my first King of Trios tournament in 2014 and touring the UK in the spring of 2015.  I guess I would call the First Busted Bronco my proudest moment, but the other two are not far behind.  

What are your ambitions in CHIKARA for 2016?

As a member of the CHIKARA roster I want to see this company keep growing and reaching new audiences.  I think we present a very original product that is unlike any other wrestling company out there.  Every week Chikaratopia adds more and more content for its subscribers and we’re heading back to the UK in May for four shows, ‪May 27-30.‬  We’re even crossing into Scotland this time. For me personally, I’ll keep following Captain Juan’s leadership and reach new heights of success.  I’m also here to help him succeed.  When he wins, everyone in the United Nations wins.  I can’t help but think there’s a certain Grand Championship that would look good with his bow tie, robe, and Ecuadorian flag.  

If you could pick your own King Of Trios team for this year, who would you pick as your partners?

I would team up with Kevin Nash and Scott Hall to show them that I would have been a much better choice for their trio than Syxx in their matchup against Ric Flair, Roddy Piper, and Kevin Greene at Slamboree 1997.  I wouldn’t have been pinned by Kevin Greene and we would’ve won the match!

What does wrestling mean to you?

Wrestling is dedication.  Our #CHIKARMY members are truly dedicated to this company always coming out in droves to support us.  They tweet to us and bring us goodies when they see us live.  We try to go to all of the areas where our fans are, but they’re spread out so far around that world that sometimes it’s just not possible.  Likewise, wrestlers are dedicated.  We dedicate ourselves to this craft always trying to improve.  I think our dedication really comes out when we do long road trips as we become, as Mike Quackenbush calls it, “Overtraveled and underslept,” but showing up to wrestle for our die-hard fans makes all of the lost sleep worth it.  

What should someone who has never seen a Prakash Sabar match expect?

Shenanigans and sarcasm.  I have a good time every time I’m in the ring, especially when I’m winning and I’m going to make sure you know it. I will never let anyone shut me up.  Be on the lookout for a Busted Bronco too because it’s an honor for every fan to witness.

SOMEONE STOP THE DAMN MATCH!!

Big thanks to Prakash for taking time out to chat with us, be sure to check out the rest of our CHIKARA interviews this week and let us know what you think on our Facebook page at https://www.facebook.com/SomeoneStopTheDamnMatch

More information on the CHIKARA Aniversario UK Tour can be found at http://www.chikarauktour.bigcartel.com/ Their entire 2016 schedule is posted at ‪CHIKARApro.com‬. You can learn more about CHIKARA at chikarapro.com, or by following them on Twitter @chikarapro

Leave a Reply

