CHIKARA WEEK!! Interview with CHIKARA star Kobald!!

Our CHIKARA week continues here on the blog, ahead of CHIKARA’s Aniversario UK Tour at the end of May, as we spoke to The King Of All Goblins Kobald. Find him on Twitter at @Kobald6
What first got you into watching pro wrestling?
My brothers were into wrestling and they slowly got me into it. It wasn’t until a friend told me about Mick Foley before I began actively watching it on my own.

Who was your favourite wrestler when you were a kid?

I had too many favorites! Mick Foley was my first favorite, but Chris Jericho was my favorite for the longest time. I used to keep stats on him for every match he had.

What made you want to be a pro wrestler?

I read Mick Foley’s book & I thought, “I can do this!” It wasn’t until I saw Low Ki vs Bryan Danielson vs Christopher Daniels that I had a complete grasp of where I would go and where I should train.

Who was your trainer?

Kizarny trained me to wrestle in that he gave me a human costume & sent me to train with Cesaro, Quackenbush & Sara Del Rey.

Who has been your favourite opponent so far in CHIKARA?

I can’t just name one! Chuck Taylor I’ve really enjoyed wrestling. He can wrestle anywhere in the world. Silver Ant always pushes me to do better. Colt Cabana was my breakout match. I really learned a lot from him.

Who has been the biggest influence on your career?

Ophidian sold me on CHIKARA. He helped give me a push I needed to get good enough to be on shows. He got me my first booking. I owe a lot to him.

Who would be your dream opponent to meet in the ring?

It would be an honor to wrestle Jushin “Thunder” Liger. I studied him a lot before I started wrestling & I got to meet him when he came to CHIKARA. An amazing individual.

What is your finishing move?

My finishing move is called the DEMON’S TOILET! I jump off the top rope & land with my butt on my opponent’s chest & face.

What do you think of the current state of pro wrestling?

It is very exciting right now. So many talented people are getting the respect & opportunities they deserve. There are lots of great wrestling promotions locally & nationally. Whatever kind of wrestling you like, it’s out there & it’s probably available to watch for a very small fee.

What has been the proudest moment of your CHIKARA career so far?

I have two equally proud moments. When I fought Deucalion on “You Only Live Twice” on 5/25/14 was the first one. I didn’t know if I’d ever wrestle again & it was a great note to end on, if it truly was the end for me. The second was when I returned on 11/7/15 at “Key Decisions”. It was 18 months since I had been gone & I didn’t know if anyone would remember me or if I had made the right decision to return… a million thoughts ran through my head, but, ultimately, it was an AMAZING experience and a good welcome back.

What are your ambitions in CHIKARA for 2016?

I want to win King Of Trios. There are so many Trios saying they are the best Trios team in CHIKARA & I believe The Batiri can beat any team on any given night. I also want to prove what I can in the ring, I feel I’ve never really showcased what I am really capable of. This year, I hope to show people what I can do.

If you could pick your own King Of Trios team for this year, who would you pick as your partners?

I want no other team members than my brethren: Kodama & Obariyon. I owe them so much for bringing me back to CHIKARA. I can only pay them back by helping them win the biggest crown CHIKARA has!

What does wrestling mean to you?

Wrestling is the greatest form of art there ever was. There’s so many dimensions, putting it above novels or comics. It is a performance art, similar to a play or a concert, but no play or concert involves the fans like wrestling does. You clap or cheer for an actor in a play & it doesn’t change the dynamic of the play. If you cheer for a wrestler, he or she can acknowledge you or change the course of a match because of it. A wrestler is an actor, a performer, an athlete, an improviser and a story teller, all rolled into one.

If someone has never seen a Kobald match, what should they expect?

You can see so many different things in a Kobald match! It all depends on my opponent. You might see me chain wrestle, you might see me fly, you might see me brawl, you might see me do comedy, you might see me go hardcore! No matter what, you will see me try to give the best performance I can on any given night so I can entertain the audience. I want everyone to be entertained above everything else!

SOMEONE STOP THE DAMN MATCH!!

Huge thanks to Kobald for taking time out to chat with us, be sure to check out the rest of our CHIKARA interviews this week and let us know what you think on our Facebook page at https://www.facebook.com/SomeoneStopTheDamnMatch


More information on the CHIKARA Aniversario UK Tour can be found at http://www.chikarauktour.bigcartel.com/ Their entire 2016 schedule is posted at ‪CHIKARApro.com‬. You can learn more about CHIKARA at chikarapro.com, or by following them on Twitter @chikarapro

Leave a Reply

