CHIKARA WEEK!! Interview with CHIKARA wrestler Icarus!!

Our CHIKARA week continues here on the blog, ahead of CHIKARA’s Aniversario UK Tour at the end of May, as we spoke to former CHIKARA Grand Champion Icarus. Find him on Twitter at @IcarusWRW
What first got you into watching pro wrestling?

Watching wrestling as a kid was what first drew me in. I was a fan of tag teams guys like The Rockers, The Hart Foundation, Demolition and Legion of Doom. The vibrancy and the energy of professional wrestling is unlike any other experience.  

Who was your favourite wrestler when you were a kid?

As a kid my favorite wrestler was Jim “The Anvil” Neidhart. The powerhouse of The Hart Foundation, that goate, and laugh what’s not to love.

What made you want to be a pro wrestler?

Watching the luchadores on WCW Nitro was the first moment I thought “this is what I want to do.” Rey Mysterio Jr was mesmerizing with his ability and skill. 

Who was your trainer?

I was trained by Mike Quackenbush. 

Who has been your favourite opponent so far?

The Colony were always my favorite opponents. Every single one of those guys has a drive and passion that makes me elevate my game each time I get in the ring with them. 

Who has been the biggest influence on your career?

Mike Quackenbush with out a doubt has been. From trainer to inspiration he’s the guy that has shaped my entire career. 

Who would be your dream opponent to meet in the ring?

Owen Hart. The sense of humor and ability that man possessed is something that’s always inspired me. 

What is your finishing move?

Blu-Ray. It’s a Death Valley Driver into the corner. 

What do you think of the current state of pro wrestling?

It needs to grow. It lingered in nostalgia and new and now has to push forward through a period of pure growth.

You were previously CHIKARA Grand Champion, how proud were you of that?

It was one of the proudest moments of my entire life.

What are your ambitions in CHIKARA for 2016?

Improve mentally and physically in every way that I can. I will set my intentions over my outcomes and push forward. 

If you could pick your own King Of Trios team for this year, who would you pick as your partners?

Heidi Lovelace was an amazing partner. A tenacious little firecracker with the heart and desire that pushes everyone she’s around to be the better version of themselves. So teaming with her would make me better and I like when I’m better. Dasher Hatfield’s ability and integrity make him a great leader as well. I dig his accent too. 

What does wrestling mean to you?

Breathing, like how it needs to be in my life for my own survival. Or perhaps that it has become so ingrained in me that it exists keeping me alive with out me often even acknowledging it. 

What should someone who has never seen a Icarus match expect?

The unexpected. Seriously, I’m at a point now where I’ll do things that are mainly self serving in my own humor and indulgence. At any given moment I’m not even sure what they will be. 

SOMEONE STOP THE DAMN MATCH!!

Big thanks to Icarus for taking time out to chat with us, be sure to check out the rest of our CHIKARA interviews this week and let us know what you think on our Facebook page at https://www.facebook.com/SomeoneStopTheDamnMatch

More information on the CHIKARA Aniversario UK Tour can be found at http://www.chikarauktour.bigcartel.com/ Their entire 2016 schedule is posted at http://www.‪CHIKARApro.com‬. You can learn more about CHIKARA at http://www.CHIKARApro.com, or by following them on Twitter @chikarapro

Leave a Reply

