CHIKARA WEEK!! Interview with CHIKARA wrestler Jervis Cottonbelly!!

Our CHIKARA week comes to an end here on the blog, ahead of CHIKARA’s Aniversario UK Tour at the end of May, as we spoke to The World’s Sweetest Man Jervis Cottonbelly. Find him on Twitter @GentlemanJervis 
What first got you into watching pro wrestling?

My family always brought me to live Wrestling events as a child and I was so taken with the pageantry and the technical prowess that I absolutely had to be involved.

Who was your favourite wrestler when you were a child?

My favorite as a child was a grappler by the name of Handsome Pete. He was a homely fellow with warts on his nose. His son, Skinny Pete and he were a great tag-team in Lancashire at the turn of the century. Pete ’n Pete! A perfect blend of comedy and action.

What made you want to become a professional wrestler?

I enjoy performing, I enjoy making people smile. Professional Wrestling seems to be the best way for me to do that at this point in time. 

Who was your trainer?

I have had many trainers over the years, but it wasn’t until I met Mike Quackenbush in the 2000’s that my training really took off. 

Who has been your favourite opponent so far in CHIKARA?

I always enjoy grappling against Chuck Taylor. I believe that he is one of the best Wrestlers on planet earth and it is a privilege to share the ring with him. 

Who has been the biggest influence on your career?

Mick Foley has absolutely inspired me. He’s shown me that Professional Wrestling can be art, it can be beautiful, it can be ugly, it can be many things to many people. Most of all, Mick Foley taught me that Professional Wrestling can be beautiful. 

Who would be your dream opponent to meet in the ring?

My dream opponent would have been Bret Hart. He would have excellently executed me, I’m certain, but I could have learned so much from him.

What is your finishing move?

The pin! 

What do you think of the current state of pro wrestling?

We are living through a Professional Wrestling renaissance. The genre is expanding and I couldn’t be happier. 

What has been the proudest moment of your CHIKARA career so far? 

Winning the Challenge of the Immortals year long, round robin tournament with my friends Princess KimberLee and Los Ice Creams was easily my proudest moment. Being able to share that with true friends who all believed in each other was very powerful indeed.

What are your ambitions in CHIKARA for 2016?

My only hope is to find the Estonian Thunderfrog and to hug my cold, slimy best friend warmly once again. 

If you could pick your own King Of Trios team for this year, who would you pick as your partners?

I would ask the Young Bucks to be my partners  because they are the best team on the planet. I would ask them to wear top hats, monocles and tails. We would be called “Three Sweet.”

What does wrestling mean to you?

Wrestling means a form of performance art that is as unique as it is entertaining. As Mr. Chuck Taylor says, when Professional Wrestling is done right, there’s nothing better.

What should someone who has never seen a Jervis Cottonbelly match expect?

To smile.

What does it take to be “The World’s Sweetest Man”?

Don’t say negative things. We all think them, but materializing negative thoughts into words, spoken or written makes them real. It makes them actual things. I started this practice by only looking on the positive side of things on Twitter and it has carried over into my real life. I suggest you try it!

With yourself being “The World’s Sweetest Man”, who do you think is the World’s Second Sweetest Man? 
Bryce Remsburg is a very sweet man. The way he speaks so affectionately about his lovely wife and his wonderful pup is admirable. All husbands should be like Mr. Remsburg. I think he may actually be the World’s Sweetest Man. 

If you were not a pro wrestler what would you be?

A florist.

SOMEONE STOP THE DAMN MATCH!!
Huge thanks to Jervis for taking time out to chat with us, be sure to check out the rest of our CHIKARA interviews this week and let us know what you think on our Facebook page at https://www.facebook.com/SomeoneStopTheDamnMatch


More information on the CHIKARA Aniversario UK Tour can be found at http://www.chikarauktour.bigcartel.com/ Their entire 2016 schedule is posted at http://www.CHIKARApro.com‬. You can learn more about CHIKARA at http://www.chikarapro.com, or by following them on Twitter @chikarapro

Leave a Reply

