INTERVIEW WITH BRITISH WRESTLER CHRIS RIDGEWAY!!

We recently had a chat with British wrestler Chris Ridgeway ahead of his match against Lewis Girvan this Sunday for Insane Championship Wrestling. Find him on Twitter at @chrisXriddy and on Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/Chris.1Riddy/
What first got you into watching pro wrestling?

My mum did. Terrible parent, let me watch all that bloody violence. No she’s lovely but yeah she watched it a little and I saw a few tapes of the 2000/2001 era of the wrasslin and I loved it. I was never big on the over the top characters until I went back when I was older enough to understand it and I fell in love with the nWo/DX and mainly HBK. I genuinely loved watching the actual wrestling from guys like Chris Benoit, Chris Jericho, Kurt Angle, The Radicalz and what not.

Who was your favourite wrestler when you were a kid?

I kinda answered that in the question above but I also loved the tag teams though. I like watching tag wrestling but personally prefer to wrestle as a singles competitor. I think TLC 1 & 2 stuck out to me a lot as a kid, if I watch it now I can pretty much sing-along with the commentary. To be honest I could probably do that for every PPV from 2000-2001 due to how much I re-watched it all. Proper loser as a kid.

What made you want to be a pro wrestler?

Why WOULDN’T you wanna be a pro wrestler? It’s badass. I just loved watching it and never thought it was something I could actually do but now I’m at this stage and there is no stopping me. I love what I do.

Who was your trainer?

Ah a lousy trainer to begin with but then along came a certain beast named Johnny Moss who taught me all the basics, excellent trainer. I went to a lot of seminars too. Kris Travis brought me through though, really helped me as much as he could and I would not be wrestling if it was not for him. Legit. Also Bubblegum, he still looks after me to this day.

Who has been your favourite opponent so far?

I don’t have a particular favourite but a few standouts would be; Bubblegum (super chemistry), El Ligero, Will Ospreay, Cedric Alexander, Liam Lazarus, Kenny Williams… The list goes on. All for different reasons really but my most enjoyable matches have been with them in my opinion.

Who has been the biggest influence on your career?

Difficult to answer. From a personal stand point, my little brother. I want to show him without telling him that if you want to do something you can. If you have a dream then chase it and allllllllll the cliché’s. When I began training I was influenced by the Junior Heavyweights such as Prince Devitt, Kenny Omega, Kyle O’Reilly, Bubblegum, El Ligero etc and I also used to watch a lot of Eddie Guerrero, Chris Benoit etc from both WCW/Japan. It’s heavily influenced my style as people may be able to tell. I like to strike & suplex people a lot. Like a good submission too. Sweet.

Who would be your dream opponent?

HBK, because it’s HBK.

What is your finishing move?

I am a man of several moves. I don’t have a finishing move per say. But you should look out for my Kicks, my tiger bomb (with a saucy roll through that makes people go ‘oooOOOOh’), headbutts & suplexes.

What do you think of the current state of British wrestling?

There’s not much I can say that others haven’t, as pretty much everyone knows it’s the most solid and reputable independent scene in the world right now with hundreds of talented lads and lasses killing it wherever the Brits go. I could go on and on but I won’t. I’m really tired.

What promotions do you actively wrestle for?

A lot of promotions and many many more to add to the list. Here’s a few- PBW, ICW, TNT, KOW, Fight! nation, Futureshock, VII Pro, HOP:E, AOW, Global Force (when it comes to the UK) and more.

What does wrestling mean to you?

A lot. Shocker. I’m gonna be a little serious if you don’t mind. Wrestling kind of, in a way has saved my life. Most know I was in a real bad place for a long time and without wrestling, the boys backstage and the fans, I don’t know where I’d be right now but in all honesty it wouldn’t be pretty. It’s given me a purpose and a reason to make something of myself. Now it’s all I do and think about. I train for wrestling, I diet for wrestling, all I do is watch wrestling, I really live for it. Again, super clichè but it’s true.

Where do you see yourself in 12 months time?

Hopefully continuing to get better and better in the ring. To be able to have accomplished certain goals I have set myself. To continue to break out into the scene even more.

What should someone who has never seen a Chris Ridgeway match expect?

I don’t feel that there is a way to answer this without sounding arrogant. So just know that I’ll perform my style to the best of my ability given the circumstance and work my arse off to make sure the fans get what they paid for. (Expect me to smash mouths too cos smashmouth)

Cheers for having me mate, hope the people who have taken their time to read this have somewhat enjoyed it too! Not quite as entertaining as a Ligero column but it’ll have to do. I’ll save my other mad stories such as ending up in Latino/Swedish mafia-style club houses for another time. But until then, stay safe FOLK.
SOMEONE STOP THE DAMN MATCH!!

Big thanks to Chris for taking the time out of his busy schedule to chat with us, let us know what you thought of the interview on our Facebook page at https://www.facebook.com/SomeoneStopTheDamnMatch/

Leave a Reply

