INTERVIEW WITH BRITISH WRESTLER AND ONE HALF OF THE PURGE….VANE!!!

We recently had a chat with GPWA wrestler and one half of the tag team The Purge, Vane. Check The Purge out on Twitter at @ThePurgeGlasgow and on Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/thepurgewrestling/
What first got you into watching pro wrestling?

What first got me into wrestling was playing the old WWF games on the Playstation One with my cousins. I didn’t know the first thing about wrestling other than it was full of big guys beating the crap out of each other. I didn’t start actually watching wrestling until a lot later in life when I was in my teens. I used to watch TNA on Bravo when it was around as I didn’t have Sky in the house and ever since I first saw it, I’ve been hooked.

Who was your favourite wrestler when you were a kid?

When I was young my favourite wrestler was Kane when he had the mask. For some reason he just looked like what a professional wrestler should look like. The mask, the crazy outfit and of course the physical size of the guy! Once I really started watching wrestling and getting into the different styles I started to prefer the smaller guys wrestling. Guys like Chris Jericho, AJ Styles, Edge and Christian. 

What made you want to be a pro wrestler?

What made me want to be a pro wrestler was that I’ve always been into combat sports like judo, ju jitsu and MMA but after doing all these sports for a while it always turned into a chore more than a hobby. I had always wanted to give pro wrestling a try (I actually did try to train as a professional wrestler when I was 15 but I wasn’t able to do it) and when I saw that GPWA was accepting a new intake myself and Krobar both agreed to give it a shot.

Who was your trainer?

My trainers are Jack Jester, Lionheart, BT Gunn, Wolfgang and Red Lightning. I’ve also attended seminars with the likes of the Coffey Brothers, Mikey Whiplash, Samoa Joe, Mr Anderson, Marty Jones and Johnny Saint to name a few. Every single one of these guys have offered me fantastic advice that I try to use in every match.

Who has been your favourite opponents so far?

Wow. Good question. I’ll be honest, I’ve enjoyed every match I’ve been in but I think a particular favourite match I’ve had would be against the Rich Kids of Instagram. Something about our styles just seems to mesh despite the fact that our styles are complete opposites. I’d love to get back in the ring with them again in the near future.

Who has been the biggest influence on your career?

I wouldn’t say that I have just one person who has inspired me more than anyone else. There’s been a combination of wrestlers who have all had an effect on my in ring style whether its Chris Jericho, Bray Wyatt or Dean Ambrose there’s been a number different wrestlers who’ve had an influence on me.

Who would be your dream opponents?

Dream opponents would be whoever the tag team champions are when we get the opportunity to face them for the belts. If there’s no belts on the line then I would love to face The Wyatt Family, The APA, The Revival. Hard hitting teams as oppossed to fancy technical teams would mesh with us as our style is similar to there’s.

Who is your favourite Tag Team ever?

My favourite tag team of all time would be Beer Money with James Storm and Robert Roode in it. They always had fantastic chemistry and when I saw them live with TNA in 2009 they got the biggest reaction of the night. They were like rock stars and ever since then I’ve known they were one of the best teams in the history of wreslting. Then you’ve got the Dudley Boys, the Hart Foundation, The Rockers, Edge and Christian. There’s too many tag teams to mention that have had an influence on me.

What is your finishing move?

My finisher is called “The Queen Anne’s Revenge” and The Purge’s finisher is called “The Murder Bomb.” 

What do you think of the current state of British wrestling?

I think it’s only going to get better from where we are now. It’s incredible to think that a couple of years ago The Garage was the biggest venue to perform in and now ICW has sold out the SECC and is putting on a show in the Hydro. This is a fantastic time to be a fan of British wrestling and we should all be grateful to get to witness this revolution first hand.

What promotions do you actively wrestle for?

Just now I wrestle for ICW, GPWA and PWE.

What does wrestling mean to you? 

Wrestling means so much to me. I was never into football so I always felt like the odd one out in school but as soon as I began watching TNA on Bravo with my younger brother I was hooked for life. 

Where do you see yourself in 12 months time? 

I don’t really look towards the future. I prefer to live in the present. A couple of tag team title reigns would be pretty sweet though. 

What should someone who has never seen a Purge match expect?

Don’t expect us to wrestle a certain way just because of how we look. Just expect to be surprised by us and you’ll do fine. And don’t forget to Come Join the Murder.

SOMEONE STOP THE DAMN MATCH!!

Big thanks to Vane for taking the time out to chat with us and be sure to check back tomorrow for an interview with Vane’s tag team partner Krobar!! Let us know what you thought of the interview on our Facebook page at https://www.facebook.com/SomeoneStopTheDamnMatch/

Leave a Reply

