INTERVIEW WITH BRITISH WRESTLER AND ONE HALF OF THE PURGE, KROBAR!!!

We recently had a chat with GPWA wrestler and the other half of the tag team The Purge, Krobar. Check The Purge out on Twitter at @ThePurgeGlasgow and on Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/thepurgewrestling/
What first got you into watching pro wrestling?

I grew up watching wrestlers like Hulk Hogan, Macho Man and Ricky Steamboat. I remember me and my sister used to deliver papers and we would stand on walls peering through windows to watch the wrestling because we only had council TV.

Who was your favourite wrestler when you were a kid?

When I was growing up every kids favourite was Hulk Hogan, The Ultimate Warrior and The Bushwhackers, for me it wasn’t until I got older and started understanding wrestling that my favourite became Bret Hart. The stuff he was doing, the way he pinpointed his strikes, everything was crisp.

What made you want to be a pro wrestler?

I’ve always had some sort of sporting background, I played rugby at a reasonably high level for Hamilton rugby club and later I started training Russian Sambo with Vadim Kolganov, training with a Master of sport was a once in a lifetime experience, the guy is literally a human weapon. Unfortunately at the time old rugby injuries and work put an end to training with Vadim, it was until a few years later that myself and Joseph Vane saw the advert for GPWA and so far it’s been a success.

Who is your trainer?

The GPWA have 5 coaches, Red Lightning, Wolfgang, Jack Jester, Lionheart and BT Gunn. We’ve also had seminars with guys like Marty Jones, Johnny Saint, Nigel McGuinness, Rhyno, Samoa Joe and many more. Each coach has brought their own unique style of wrestling to training which is great, it increases your understanding and move set.

Who has been your favourite opponents so far?

In my short time wrestling I’ve been in the ring with a lot of good wrestlers, I think Stevie James is a wrestler with a lot of potential as is C.S Rose (if he can stop running away from fights) there is so much talent in the GPWA like Ravie Davie and the Sam Barbour experience it’s hard to single one person out. 


Who has been the biggest influence on your career?

Anybody that I have met has influenced me in someway or another, it was actually Rhyno that called me Krobar. Mikey Whiplash has gave me a lot of time and advice. The coaches at GPWA, ultimately one day I’m going to have to fight them but I can’t deny that they haven’t influenced me, also the work and discipline that Vadim Kolganov installed in me at sambo has to be acknowledged. Everyone that I’ve met has influenced me in some way. 

Who would be your dream opponents?

My dream opponents would be either Legion of Doom or The Acolytes… In fact a triple threat tag match, 3 teams throwing the rule book out and just fighting, that would be mayhem. I like fighting and mayhem. 

Who is your favourite Tag Team?

There’s too many to choose from, every tag team has their own thing which makes them stand out. The Hart Foundation – a mix of technique and power. Legion Of Doom – no nonsense tough bastards. Demolition – heavy hitters, the Royal Rumble when Ax & Smash started at numbers 1 and 2 is the best start to a Rumble ever in my opinion. The Brain Busters, I mean there is just too many to pick from. 

What is your finishing move?

The Purges finisher is the murder bomb, it’s a power bomb neckbreaker, with a load of hate and aggression behind it.

What do you think of the current state of British wrestling?

From where I’m standing it’s in a good place and with the amount of talent in Britain it’s only gonna get bigger, people around the world are taking notice and it just keeps getting bigger and better.

What promotions do you actively wrestle for?

I’ve wrestled for Pro Wrestling Elite, ICW and GPWA , who put on monthly shows which we are involved in quite regularly. There’s many more promotions out there that I would love to work with.

What does wrestling mean to you? 

Growing up as a Polish kid was tough, racial abuse and daily fights was the norm. Other kids didn’t play with us, rugby provided an escape, I got to hit people Hard. I made friends who would become brothers and then onto Sambo. Krobars life hasn’t been easy, it’s been a fight, it’s threw up some bad stuff along the way. But Sambo gave me the discipline and a different outlook on life, wrestling is the same.

Where do you see yourself in 12 months time? 

Where do I see myself in 12 months time? Who knows? I didn’t see myself at this point 12 months ago. The only thing I can guarantee is that The Purge are always gonna go out and fight, whoever, whenever, wherever. We’re not here to make friends. Myself and Joseph Vane are here to fight and drink beer.

What should someone who has never seen a Purge match expect?

Quite honestly a fight. Our mantra is hit first, don’t ask questions.

SOMEONE STOP THE DAMN MATCH!!

Big thanks to Krobar for taking the time out to chat with us and be sure to check out yesterday’s interview with Krobar’s tag team partner Vane!! Let us know what you thought of the interviews on our Facebook page at https://www.facebook.com/SomeoneStopTheDamnMatch/

Leave a Reply

