INTERVIEW WITH ONE HALF OF THE NEW NATION, ALEX HENRY!!

We recently had a chat with one half of British tag team The New Nation, Alex Henry. Find him on Twitter at @theclassapart and The New Nation on Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/newnationuk/
What first got you into watching pro wrestling?

My older siblings used to watch it, so naturally I would watch it with them.

Who was your favourite wrestler when you were a kid?

Kane was my favourite. He was a badass in the late 90’s!

What made you want to be a pro wrestler?

I always had a interest in performing when I was younger. I did various acting in plays, musicals and I done a bit of extra work. I lost the buzz from that and decided to give pro wrestling a try. The buzz was like no other and I’ve done it ever since. 

Who was your trainer?

I am trained by Rampage Brown & AJ Anderson. I find myself very fortunate to learn from two of the best in the country week in week out. 

Who has been your favourite opponents so far?

Myself and Prime had a tag team war against Flash Morgan Webster and Wild Boar for Absolute Wrestling. I would say those guys are my favourite so far. I learnt a lot from them and we got a great reaction from the crowd.

Who has been the biggest influence on your career?

I must say Prime and Rampage have been the biggest influence so far. They have got me opportunity after opportunity to show what I can do which I am very grateful for.

Who would be your dream opponents to meet in the ring?

I would really like to wrestle the Sumerian Death Squad. I believe they’re such an established tag team and we’d learn so much from them.

Who is your favourite Tag Team of all time?

The Brothers of Destruction, Undertaker and Kane, are my favourite team. Simply because of the dominance they brought to the ring. 

What is your finishing move?

My finishing move is the Package Piledriver. 

What do you think of the current state of British wrestling?

I think the scene is thriving and I’m happy to be a small part of it right now. 

What promotions do you actively wrestle for?

Right now I wrestle for: Tidal Wrestling, Absolute Wrestling, Main Event Wrestling, Target Wrestling, British Wrestling Entertainment and I recently made my debut alongside Prime for Insane Championship Wrestling who we hope to return for in the future. 

What does wrestling mean to you? 

Wrestling is a chance for me to perform and entertain in front of others. It’s always something I’ve enjoyed and I feel like it gives me a chance to release some of the pressure that day to day life can bring. 

Where do you see yourself in 12 months time? 

I’d like to think I’d be getting work regularly week in week out. I set myself a target of three bookings per month at the beginning of the year. I’m managing to exceed that so fingers crossed that will continue. 

What should someone who has never seen a New Nation match expect?

All out war! We’re fighters and we love a good scrap. We’re a dynamic pairing like no other combining a number of styles.

SOMEONE STOP THE DAMN MATCH!!
Massive thanks to Alex for taking the time out to chat with us!! Let us know what you thought of the interview on our Facebook page at https://www.facebook.com/SomeoneStopTheDamnMatch/

Leave a Reply

