INTERVIEW WITH LAURA DI MATTEO!!

We recently had a chat with Italian wrestler who you can see on the British wrestling circuit, Laura Di Matteo. You can find her on Twitter at @Laura_DiMatteo1 
When did you fall in love with pro wrestling?

My brother was a huge wrestling fan and he used to watch it all the time so I got into it because of him. The first ever show I watched was the Royal Rumble 2005 and Shawn Michaels vs Edge just did the trick.

Who was your favourite wrestler when you were young?

My top 3 wrestlers growing up were Shawn Michaels, Undertaker and Triple H. They were like my superheroes.

What is the wrestling scene in your home country of Italy like?

To be honest I’m not very familiar with the wrestling scene in Italy, as I’ve always trained and wrestled here in the UK. I know there’s some good promotions and some great talents but unfortunately I never had the chance to attend any shows back home.

Who are the most famous wrestlers to come out of Italy?

Not sure who the most famous are but I know Queen Maya has been doing a great job representing Italy around the world for years.

What made you want to become a pro wrestler?

It’s just something that I really love. I tried so many different sports when I was younger but none of them were meant to be. When I came over here and started training at the ProJo I knew that wrestling was the one, it just felt right.

What other sports are you a fan of?

I’m a huge tennis lover.

If you weren’t a wrestler what else would be your dream job?

Tennis player, no doubt.

For anyone that has never seen a match of yours, what should they expect?

I might be the smallest but I always put up a fight.

What is your finisher?

My finisher is the back cracker.

Who has had the biggest influence on you in wrestling?

Before moving to the UK I only knew WWE and wasn’t familiar with the independent scene at all. Coming here and getting to know British wrestling has become my biggest influence. Just being surrounded by so much talent is inspiring.

What has been your proudest moment of your career to date?

It has to be ENDVR:16 when I finally stood up for myself. That was a special moment for me, the end of ‘Elizabeth’ and the beginning of Laura Di Matteo.

Where did you train and who were your trainers?

I’ve always trained at the ProJo and my main trainers were Darrell Allen and James Davis. Also when I was still Jinny’s PA Jimmy Havoc used to be our trainer.

How would you describe your style of wrestling?

Fairly technical with high-flying tendencies. Being one of the smallest I have to make speed my main strength.

I have watched your feud with Jinny and loved every minute of it, but what else do you have in store for her?

Oh just wait and see!

What promotions have you and currently wrestle for?

PROGRESS, IPW:UK, BEW.

Where do you see yourself in 12 months time?

Still doing what I love and what I do best.

What does wrestling mean to you? 

It means that anything is possible.

SOMEONE STOP THE DAMN MATCH!!
Big thanks to Laura for taking the time out to chat with us, let us know what you thought of the interview over on our Facebook page at https://www.facebook.com/SomeoneStopTheDamnMatch/

Leave a Reply

