INTERVIEW WITH SMASH WRESTLING’S TARIK!!

Ahead of PROGRESS Wrestling’s trip to Canada this weekend for the Smash Wrestling Vs PROGRESS Wrestling weekend, we had a chat with one of Smash Wrestling’s stars, Tarik before his match against Zack Sabre Jr. You can find Tarik on Twitter at @TARIKhatesyou 
When did you first start watching wrestling and what made you watch?

When I was a little boy…probably 5 or 6 years old. My father used to watch it and I naturally found it so fun to watch! 

Who were your favorite wrestlers when you started watching?

Ultimate Warrior – Just so much energy…he made it so easy to like him! Shawn Michaels – Charismatic. He was just so good at being a bad guy as well as a good guy. 

What made you want to become a wrestler?

I used to watch wrestling as a kid religiously. I loved it! I had all the figures, belts, posters etc. I always had wrestling matches with my brother on our mattress every weekend…It was quite hilarious! I always took a liking to actually performing. I was always an athletic kid growing up and I guess that is what drove me to think that I could actually do this.    

Who were your trainers?

Rob Fuego and Steve Cvetkovich at Squared Circle Training in Toronto.

What companies have you wrestler for?

Superkickd, Smash, Destiny Wrestling, C*4 Wrestling, AIW, AAW, Alpha 1 Wrestling, BCW, WAR Wrestling.

What is your finishing move?

Knee Curb Stomp.

Who has been your favourite person you’ve met in the ring so far?

Chris Hero.

Who has been the biggest influence on your wrestling career?

There are far too many to name. Tyson Dux helped me really form my style as a wrestler. Anthony Kingdom James helped me by bringing out the confidence in myself as a performer. I feel it really took me to another level. Sebastian Suave helped me when I first started out. He helped with etiquette and finer things that create a good person not just in wrestling but in life. 

If you could face any wrestler past or present who would it be?

Sami Callihan. I think the dude is awesome. Really cool guy as well. I think we have similar styles and would have a great match.

What has been your greatest achievement in wrestling so far?

Just being able to have great matches with just about anyone. I take pride in that.

What are you looking forward to about PROGRESS Wrestling coming over to SMASH Wrestling?

The fans are in for a treat! Some of the Smash fans have never seen these guys over at PROGRESS. It just looks to be a great relationship between 2 awesome companies. I’m looking forward to meeting them as well!

What do you think of the current independent wrestling scene?

Wrestling these days has not been any hotter. The game has changed. I feel very privileged to be a part of probably the hottest era of wrestling we have seen in quite some time. I am a very competitive guy and I can see the raw level of talent that is out there that has not been signed yet. It only helps the product when wresters are performing at the highest level that they possibly can.

What should someone who has never seen a Tarik match expect?

A ton of energy! I base a lot of my offence off intensity and aggression. Plenty of creative and unorthodox moves. You will get your monies worth from a Tarik match!

What does wrestling mean to you?

Wrestling has taught me so much about life in general. For the last 6 years it has been my identity. I do not know who I would be if it wasn’t for pro wrestling. People ask “Why would you do that? You are hurting your body…” It’s called passion. I would not do this if I didn’t love it 100%. All the pain, bumps, bruises, cuts…..it’s all worth it to me. The feeling before a match, the feeling during a match and the feeling after a match…..it can’t be reproduced.

SOMEONE STOP THE DAMN MATCH!!
Smash Wrestling Vs PROGRESS Wrestling takes place this weekend on 16th, 17th and 18th September. Featuring matches such as Tarik Vs Zack Sabre Jr, Evil Uno Vs El Ligero, Mike Bailey Vs Mark Haskins, Brent Banks Vs Mark Andrews and Facade & Space Monkey Vs London Riots in a hardcore match!! You’ll be able to see these shows on demand at https://demandprogress.pivotshare.com/ and https://ondemand.smash-wrestling.com/


Big thanks to Tarik, let us know what you thought of the interview over on the Facebook page at https://www.facebook.com/SomeoneStopTheDamnMatch/

Leave a Reply

