INTERVIEW WITH CLINT MARGERA!!

I recently had the pleasure of having a chat with one of my favourite wrestlers The Death Match Worker, the one and only Mr Clint Margera about all things wrestling. Find him on Twitter at @ClintMargera
When did you first get into wrestling?

I first started watching wrestling, I guess it would have been around the middle of 1992 because the first show I remember seeing was Wrestlemania 8 on VHS. I was hooked from then. It wasn’t until I was around 23/24, after a youth of backyard wrestling, that I wanted to start doing it a higher or more professional level. 

For anyone that’s never seen you wrestle, how would you describe your style?
I’m a Hardcore wrestler 100%. I love competing in that style and ever since I saw ECW and the 1995 King of the Deathmatch tournament from Japan I knew that it how I wanted to wrestle. 

How do you get yourself in the zone before a match?
I just try and keep moving before matches and chatting round the backstage area. I’ll maybe throw some headphones on and listen to some heavy and aggressive music. But mostly, I try and stay as calm as I can really. 

What has been your biggest achievement so far?
Not hurting myself too seriously so far has been quite a personal achievement of mine. Wrestling in Korakuen Hall is obviously a HUGE deal to any wrestler, so that holds a high place on my list. 

Who was your favourite wrestler growing up?
When I was a kid It was definitely Bret Hart. I was Pink and Black through and through. When I got more exposed to hardcore wrestling it was people like Mick Foley, Tommy Dreamer and Raven. 

What has been your favourite match you have been in?
I’m really proud of the Six Man Tag match from The Garage in London when we were there as part of the Chikara UK tour in 2015. It was myself and Moustache Mountain (Trent Seven and Tyler Bate) vs Jimmy Havoc and Pete and Damian Dunne. I don’t really ever talk about it that much but I really enjoyed that one. Was just a crazy, fun match. 

On the other hand what has been the most brutal match you’ve been in?

I would probably say the first time I faced MASADA. That match was pretty brutal and I was told after, too much for some people to watch all the way through. I definitely had to hide some marks and cuts for a few weeks following it. 

Who has been your favourite opponent?

I really enjoy being in matches with both Chris Brookes and Jimmy Havoc. No offence to anyone else I’ve been in a ring with but I’m sure all wrestlers have those certain people they just gel with. 

If you could wrestler someone from the past or present who would it be?

Well a couple of months ago, I probably would have said Tommy Dreamer but I was VERY fortunate to actually be able to do that with Kamikaze Pro in Birmingham. Now, I’d say Mick Foley in his Cactus Jack persona would be the dream match for me or Jake ‘The Snake’ Roberts. 

What do you think of the current UK wrestling scene?

I don’t think it could be going any better for the UK and Ireland scenes right now. There are so many opportunities happening for people and the exposure being given to it is incredible. There are so many ways for wrestlers here to be seen worldwide with the help of an On Demand site and now companies being picked up by FloSlam. I’m buzzing to see what the future holds for everyone..

What companies can we catch you wrestling for? 

Fight Club: PRO in Wolverhampton, Kamikaze Pro in Birmingham, NORTH in Newcastle and IPW:UK down in Kent. Hopefully a few more in the not to distant future. 

SOMEONE STOP THE DAMN MATCH!!
Huge thank you to Clint for taking part in this interview, massively appreciated and hope everyone enjoys it. Let us know what you thought of the interview on the Facebook page at https://www.facebook.com/SomeoneStopTheDamnMatch/

Leave a Reply

