INTERVIEW WITH BRITISH WRESTLER NOAM DAR!!

I recently had the pleasure to have a chat with one of my favourite wrestlers on the planet and in my opinion one of the best wrestlers on the British wrestling scene, Noam Dar!! Find him on Twitter at @NoamDar, on Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/Noamdar93/ and buy his merch at http://noamdar.bigcartel.com/  
What first got you into wrestling?

Unlike most people, I didn’t watch wrestling from a young age due to the fact I had no access to it as it was only shown on SKY. Which when I was a wee guy was quite the luxury, especially the sports channels! I remember kids talking about it at school so I was aware of it but never really thought it would be my cup of tea. When I was about 10 I watched a bit of Smackdown at my friends house, the first clip I saw was Brock Lesnar smashing Team Angle & I loved it. A few weeks later I convinced my Papa to get SKY and the rest was history.    

Who was your favourite wrestler when you were younger?

Eddie Guerrero, there was no one who utilised their charisma and abilities more in my opinion. As a kid he was the wrestler I wanted to be the most, quote his catchphrases and copy his poses.   

Who has been the biggest influence on your career?

Too many people to mention. I’ve had massive influences from people I least expected in this business, my daily motivation comes from friends both in and outside wrestling it relativity keeps me focused.   

Who would be your dream opponent to meet in the ring?

Eddie Guerrero purely because he was the reason I wanted to become a wrestler.   

On the other hand who has been your favourite opponent so far?

Extremely hard question I’ve been lucky enough to have some fantastic opponents. I love working with Grado, I reckon that’s down to our friendship and how we think the same, we could easily work together every night. John Morrison was someone who I didn’t believe I would click with too well and ended up being one of my favourite opponents to work with, I’d love to wrestle him everyday. I hope that highlights two sides of the spectrum.    

I have seen you wrestle in many different places in the UK, where has been your favourite place to wrestle?

I honestly enjoy everywhere I go for one reason or another, it’s a great scene.   

Who do you think is the next big thing in British wrestling?

It’s hard to say and to suggest someone is the next big thing might sound patronising as there is so many great talents, there’s alot of potential coming out of the Glasgow Pro Wrestling Asylum which has fantastic facilities and great trainers.  

What do you think of the current state of British wrestling?

I think we are the best independent scene in the world. We have world class athletes who can provide a variety of performances and a solid loyal fan base. Supplement that with a high volume of quality shows over a small land area, it’s a really great place to work and arguably even greater place to be a fan.   

What has been your greatest achievement in your career so far?

It’s hard to choose one specific moment, I believe having a good rapport with peers all over the world is one of the most important things a wrestler can achieve and I believe I’m getting there in that sense. I have a lot of respect for many colleagues and value the friendships I’ve made that hopefully will be long-lasting. I know many wrestlers that can go anywhere in the world and be welcomed into the locker room, that really resonates with me and it’s something that I aim to achieve.  

You competed in TNA’s British Bootcamp, how was that experience?

An experience that’s for sure. Being in America with my best mate and close friends was brilliant, professionally it was an eye opener.   

Did you choose you entrance music in ICW as it’s a great song, if so why did you choose it?

Actually ICW choose it for me. It’s from a band called Titors Insignia and I feel it really suits me.   

Where do you see yourself in 12 months’ time?

Making more money and having more good times ha!   

You and Grado are good friends, will we ever get to see you two team up and have a run at the tag team gold?

Something we would love to do I’m sure.   

You’ve had matches against him in the past, what is it like wrestling your friend?

In my opinion there is nothing better. When I work with someone I feel I’m on the same wavelength that’s a pure buzz.   

Do you have any advice for anyone wanting to get into the business?

Find a reputable school & be patient. The UK has created some of the best wrestlers in the world, our style is a birthright that should be respected and one of the biggest concerns to your training. The country is full of trainers who know the business and if they offer training, jump on it.  

How big a Star Wars fan are you?

A big fan for sure, I was mad for it when I was a wee guy so now it’s a nostalgia pop more than anything else.  

Your submission move is called The Champagne Super Knee Bar, who do you think would win in a wrestling match between Liam and Noel?

Liam but Noel would write a better song about it ha! 

  
How did it feel walking out in front of 4,000 fans at the SECC?

One of the best feelings of my life, I’m really proud to be part of Insane Championship Wrestling.   

Finally…. If someone has never seen a Noam Dar match, what should they expect to see from a match involving you?

I would hope at the very least, something different.  

SOMEONE STOP THE DAMN MATCH!!
Massive thanks to Noam for being up for answering our questions, let us know what you thought of the interview over on our Facebook page at https://www.facebook.com/SomeoneStopTheDamnMatch

Leave a comment